Sunday Film Series: A Truly Fine Lawnmower

The heat wave here in the eastern United States has gotten me to considering a problem that plagues suburbia. Lawn mowing is a lousy, hot chore.

Manufacturers have tried addressing the lousy, hot chore by creating self-propelled mowers. They’re missing the mark. I can push the mower around, or it can drag me around. The problem is that I am still involved in both those scenarios.

What we need is a self-motivating mower. If they’d just build a mower that showed initiative, I could be a gentleman of leisure. Instead, I’m spending way too much of my life behind a mower. Someone needs to get on this problem, yesterday.

Here is my concept video:

More of the Sunday Film Series

29 Comments on “Sunday Film Series: A Truly Fine Lawnmower”

  1. It’s really a gender-role equality thing. If they can make a robot vacuum cleaner, why not a mower.
    When this idea catches on, you are sure to be crowned King of Suburbia. I raise my Maryland Terrapins glass in your honor, sir!

    • omawarisan says:

      Yes, it is gender equality. I’m oppressed.

      Hope the Terps show up this football season. The best thing about the game I saw them play was the NC State Marching Band.

      Ok, in truth, I’d have said that for any game that band was performing at.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    So, basically, a Roomba that cuts grass. Oma, that is absolutely brilliant!

  3. I’m not proud of how many times I pressed replay on that…

  4. Debbie says:

    What a clever idea, an idea whose time has come! Somebody should definitely free mankind from having to mow — sitting on a patio sipping a cool drink while watching the “lawn Roomba” sounds much better!

  5. Jason says:

    You are a genius. If you need any financial backing to help you develop this, I’ll totally pitch in the six pennies I just found in my grandma’s couch. That’s pretty much all I have at this point, though.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I recently saw an ad for artificial grass which is being sold as a long lasting replacement for the real stuff. It looks real good. If I find it I will send you a copy. In the meantime keep the goats working.

  7. spencercourt says:

    From my perspective, the solution is in science: genetically modified grass which only grows to a certain height and then stops.

  8. k8edid says:

    I do not know when I have enjoyed a film more. I don’t know if that says more about me or the film industry. Well done.

  9. Lenore Diane says:

    Woah. Was that a cameo appearance? Look at you being all Alfred Hitchcock. I like it!!
    I chuckled out of the gate with the Three Stooges “Hey Moe” reference.
    This is one of your best movies to date, Oma. The concept – the direction – the final cut. As Todd said – brilliant!!

  10. Look out Steven Spielberg. Here comes Oma. I see an Oscar in your future.

  11. Laura says:

    It’s the 21st century. Of course you can have a robotic lawn mower (if you have an extra $1600 lying around). http://www.amazon.com/Friendly-Robotics-Robomower-RM400-Cordless/dp/B001204SFU

  12. I want one! Great music, too.

    But having seen too many Terminator Movies, I’m a little nervous.

  13. Brilliant! I keep thinking Toro … Oma … Toroma.

  14. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Even getting the damn lawn mower out of the garage would be too much work for me. It would have to sense that the lawn needed cutting and just get out there and do it without my prompting. Then, I’d want it to massage my feet. Oops, did I just describe the perfect husband?

  15. Val says:

    Yep. Failing that… rabbits with blinkers (so that they can only see grass and not anything else to eat). That’d do it. They’re motivated.

  16. […] Sunday Film Series: A Truly Fine Lawnmower (blurtblog.net) […]

  17. […] few weeks ago, I posted a video of my concept of the ultimate lawn mower. It was not only self-propelled, but it was self motivated. Unfortunately, manufacturers haven’t beaten a path to my door. I’d say that was their […]


So, what's on your mind?

