The Sunday Film Series: Catching A Ride

About ten years ago, I was helping put on a juggling festival. We were giving a set of water injected tennis balls to everyone who attended. Filling a tennis ball with water gives it the perfect weight for juggling. The water also keeps the ball from bouncing away when it is dropped.

This really has nothing to do with what this week’s film is about.

Tennis balls don’t inject themselves with water. About ten years ago, I was sitting on the front porch with a box of tennis balls and a dangerous looking syringe device that we were using to fill the balls. My neighbor pulled in to her driveway and saw me jabbing tennis balls with what looked like a big spike. She looked at me like I’d snapped, walked to her front porch, and called her kids in from playing in the front yard.

That doesn’t have anything to do with the topic of the film either.

Jabbing did not occur during the making of this film. There were some neighbors giving me strange looks as I made it.

Take two pictures, move the car, take two pictures, move the car. Open the door, take pictures….you get the drill.
It’s going to be a while before the neighbors stop looking at me funny over making this one.

21 Comments on “The Sunday Film Series: Catching A Ride”

  1. Is there no end to the magic of your film making? Did you inject the cap with water and it grew into a real person?

    Sweet wheels, btw. If I still had the Hipstermobile, they could have a play date.

  2. k8edid says:

    Brilliant…I’d start working on your acceptance speech if I was you.

  3. Laura says:

    How did you convince the Invisible Man to star in your movie?

  4. I think you’ve created your farwell address for when you retire!

  5. Debbie says:

    Never heard of injecting tennis balls with water to make juggling easier — hmm, who’d a thought?? Still, cute little car!

  6. We Found Him Captain! says:

    you need a nice pair of aviator sunglasses to go with the ride…….. Lookin good!

  7. Betty says:

    A wonderful film indeed, O. But I got pulled into those other clips that popped up when the Ride ended. I think I’ve missed several posts too – they were all new to me. Keep up the good work.

  8. Pie says:

    That car is lush…

  9. Lenore Diane says:

    Another cameo! The roof opening was most excellent. I wish I was a neighbor, so I could have watched behind the scenes. I imagine I would have giggled a little.
    Thanks for the information regarding juggling, water, and tennis balls. I can see how those things absolutely did not inspired this movie. You are really talented.


So, what's on your mind?

