If An Arnold Palmer Is Iced Tea and Lemonade

Arnold Palmer. That guy was a good golfer, wasn’t he?

I don’t have direct knowledge of him being a good golfer. He has never met me. If I did know him, I still wouldn’t be able to assess him as a golfer. I only play miniature golf.

YN3 Arnold Palmer, 23, played in the North and...

Golfer, beverage innovator…sailor.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Did you know that he has a drink named after him? A mix of lemonade and iced tea is called an Arnold Palmer. Having a beverage named after you must be pretty nice.

Nice, Unless Your Name Is John Daly

Having a drink named for you is pretty nice. It says someone thinks well of you, or your prowess as a beverage innovator. Except for when it says people have uncool thoughts about you.

John Daly is a professional golfer who has battled alcoholism. Someone invented an alcoholic version of the Arnold Palmer drink and named it a John Daly. I think it’s a little harsh to name a vodka based drink after an alcoholic.

I think I’d like to have a drink named after me. I haven’t seen a rule that only a professional golfer can have a namesake drink.

Hot Chocolate With Orange

I’ve decided to start a campaign to have a drink named for me. I’ve chosen hot chocolate with a shot of orange flavor as my namesake drink.

I love Smelly Cat (image via Ron’s Roadtrips)

There are a lot of people who might have invented hot chocolate with orange, but I don’t know them. I haven’t seen any paperwork establishing who the creator of the drink is. When I went to Smelly Cat Coffeehouse and asked if they could make one for me, they told me they’d never made that drink before. Those three facts make it clear that I am the originator of Hot Chocolate with Orange.

To the inventor go the spoils, or something like that. Inventors usually get to name their creation. I am taking advantage of that rule.

Omawarisan is a long name, too long for people to order at a fast-moving coffee shop. Shortening it to Oma doesn’t work either, since that’s what some folks call their grandma. I spent hours thinking about how to name my drink, but I had no luck. I took a break and stopped by the Smelly Cat. When I left, I had the answer to the naming question in my hand.

The fateful cup

There, written on my paper cup was a shorthand version of my order – “hot/o”. The name of my drink will be the Hot O.

Eat My Dust, Palmer

This week, when you meet friends for coffee, I would like you to order my drink. The more people who order it by name, the faster the name and its drink will spread across the globe.

Tell the person who takes your order that you want a large Hot O. Don’t be deterred by their confusion. Patiently explain that you want hot chocolate with a shot of orange syrup. Say that it is called a Hot O. Most importantly, say that all the coolest barristas are making them.

Order it every time you go in, and use the correct name for it. They’ll remember you, they’ll remember the Hot O, and I will be right up there with Daly and Palmer.

Have a Hot O.

I hope it is good for you.

29 Comments on “If An Arnold Palmer Is Iced Tea and Lemonade”

  1. Betty says:

    I will do my part to spread the word.

  2. We Found Him Captain! says:

    I love a nice Hot-O poured over my Captain Crunch in the morning. I have been scurvy free for 75 years.

  3. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    Sounds delicious! I hear chocolate & orange compliment each other well. You are obviously a man of discerning tastes.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Tasty! I like chocolate. I like orange flavor. It makes tons of sense! Love the name, too.

  5. dufmanno says:

    I fear that if I ask the person on the other side of the counter for a Hot O , I might get something else entirely.
    Also, when I first glanced at your cup it looked like the name of your innovative new drink was a Ho Ho. Perhaps there can be a version of the Hot O where you dip a Ho Ho on a wooden skewer into it and top it with whipped cream?

  6. Debbie says:

    If that’s your drink of choice, I support you. As for me, I prefer marshmallows in my hot chocolate. But you have every right to call this concoction any thing you want, since you’ve invented it and all!

  7. Rich Crete says:

    Good choice. Hot O is a far more appetizing name than say……Blurt. While that’s a good name for a blog, it’s not so good for food or drink.

    • omawarisan says:

      Blurt would be a good food name for something like deviled eggs dipped in mint chocolate.

      Please note that this is for example only and I am strictly opposed to mingling egg and mint.

  8. It sounds delightful.

    I’ll have what you’re having.

  9. Wendi says:

    Sorry but my mind went in a completely different direction when I read Hot O. Sounds more like one of those crazy shots you order at college bars!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Since you are retiring soon, the royalties will come in handy. Perhaps your invention will blossom into a chain of shops – Hot O to Go!

  11. I am SO TOTALLY going to do that. The very next time I’m at a coffee place or deli. I will admit I don’t go often, but I PROMISE I will pull up my pants and ask for a Hot O (and Hot Joe will get mad for talking sexy to the guy but will give me a thumb’s up if it’s a girl) and when the person looks at me crazy-like I will look back crazy-like. “You don’t know what it IS? Why it’s a hot chocolate with a shot of orange of course! Where have YOU been? Do you know what Google is? How about Apple?” I can be mean sometimes, yes I can. I’ll have Hot Joe video it.

  12. Good name for a drink that I’ll regretfully pass on!

  13. Blogdramedy says:

    If I order a Hot O and let it go cold will it turn into one of those chocolate and orange oranges you score at Xmas? I like those best. So the next time I’m in Starbucks I’ll order a Hot O but with a twist…Drambuie. 🙂

    • omawarisan says:

      The chocolate orange is the inspiration for the drink.

      Under my administration, those oranges will be available year round.

      Drambuie! Bam! It will be like the John Daly version, if there was an alcoholic version of me.

  14. Pie says:

    Hot O. Mmmmm… yummy.


So, what's on your mind?

