The Sunday Film Series (On Friday): The Portable Black Hole

Yes, it is Friday and my film series runs on Sundays. I’ll get things back on schedule next week. For this week, please pretend it is Sunday and read on.

People know I am all about science. Physics, astronomy, whatever it takes.

When friends look for me, they know to look in the laboratory. This week I spent a little extra time in the lab, considering the big questions in physics and astronomy. Questions such as “why is the moon following me?” and “if I am strong enough to lift my own weight, can I sit in a chair, pick myself up and fly away?”

I didn’t spend much time on those issues. I know the answers to those questions are “because the moon sort of digs you” and “yes”.

Moving on, I considered another important matter of astrophysics. I wondered if I could make my own black hole. The answer is yes, so I’ve got that going for me.

Behold.

26 Comments on “The Sunday Film Series (On Friday): The Portable Black Hole”

  1. You’ve switched Friday and Sunday and created your own black hole. No wonder the moon digs you!

  2. Laura says:

    This one’s going to give me nightmares. A black hole is scary, but (spoiler alert!) a coffee-destroying black hole is terrifying.

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I want one! I’d place it right at the foot of my office building. I need another day off!

  4. Todd Pack says:

    Dear editor: That is NOT a black hole. That’s actually a wormhole, which is a theoretical entity allowed by Einstein’s theory of general relativity in which spacetime curvature connects two distant locations or times. If you can’t tell the different between a black hole and a wormhole, then I’m not sure I can trust anything in your publication ever again and must, therefore and with regret, cancel my subscription. I’ll simply have to look elsewhere for my daily fix of Rex Morgan, M.D. and sudoku.

  5. I want one. How much?

  6. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Can I hire you to build a large black hole for my back deck? I will put an above the ground pool under the deck, then whenever I want to go for a dip I can roll out the black hole on the deck and jump through it into the pool.

  7. Blogdramedy says:

    J.J. Abrahms and his 8mm camera’s got nothing on you, Oma!

  8. Betty says:

    Magical

  9. Wendy says:

    Does this mean someone from an alternate universe is enjoying your coffee? Did they send you something in return?

  10. I imagine that you will be getting a lot of mail in the coming weeks. One from the Army–they’ll want a few black holes to deploy in some other, well, black holes around the world. No doubt the Nobel Committee will be in touch. And I hope you have a good patent lawyer because the Chinese may want to start selling a cheap knock off.

  11. Simon Elmes says:

    Ths is only the second time I have read your Blog, no offense of course ,it should be more but i only found it yesterday so i think that makes it ok. I commented last time that you may be a little nuts, highly entertaining but nuts all the same and i think i will stick to my innitial judgement if thats OK. I (as everyone else) want a black hole of my own, but I think that I would end up becoming some sort of comic book bad guy given that much power so it is probably best I don’t have one. Great post, thanks

  12. Lenore Diane says:

    That was incredible! I lost count on the number of times I’ve watched it. Very clever, Oma. You are a master of special effects.


So, what's on your mind?

