Sunday Film Series – Grass That Cuts Itself

A few weeks ago, I posted a video of my concept of the ultimate lawn mower. It was not only self-propelled, but it was also self-motivated. Unfortunately, manufacturers haven’t beaten a path to my door. I’d say that was their loss, but really, it is my loss too. I was the one mowing again yesterday afternoon.

lighting bold in red and blue square.

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I pushed my unmotivated mower out to the back yard. The Grateful Dead were playing Terrapin Station on my iPod. Not wanting to interrupt, I stood looking at my back yard. The Dead finished, and I remembered that the grass wasn’t going to cut itself. “There’s no reason it shouldn’t”, I thought. Grass grows on its own, it should trim itself.

Grass should trim itself. Are you listening to me horticulturists? Here is how it should work. Think of it like watching grass grow, but backwards.

If some grass scientist can work it out so lawns trimmed themselves in a wave, like in the film, that would be great. If not, I will take something close. Hopefully someone can get right back to me on this.

More of the Sunday Film Series.

16 Comments on “Sunday Film Series – Grass That Cuts Itself”

  1. Laura says:

    I’m working on a grass-cutting system that I think you might like. It’s just like an automated sprinkler system, except that instead of shooting out water, it shoots out high-powered lasers. I’m going to be putting this on the market soon; I just have one or two minor safety issues to work out first.

  2. Betty says:

    You need a mower that can cut those patterns like major league ballparks. Red sox logo in the yard would be nice.

  3. . . . Some rise, some fall, some climb to get to terrapin . . .

    Disclaimer: I’m not really a hippie. . .

    Nonetheless: Cutting grass to Grateful Dead is perhaps the most ingenius act of suburban rebellion I can imagine.

    The only thing that could compete with this film series is if your neighbors are filming your filming for their own documentary. That would make me giggle.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Top notch video. The music provides just the right touch of solemnity. Hey, you could just kill the grass, buy a pound of thyme or chamomile seeds, sprinkle them on the lawn, water, and then, POOF! A lawn you’ll never have to mow again. Of course, playing bocce ball on it would be a little difficult.

  5. spencercourt says:

    I’d be happy if they could find a way for weeds to cut themselves. The grass grows slowly, but weeds….

  6. Pie says:

    I think your mower should be creating crop circles. Confound your neighbourhood; attract the attention of the meeja and conspiracy theorists; become a celebrity overnight. It’s a dead cert. A dead cert, I tell ye!

  7. There is something wonderfully satisfying about that video.

    It occurs to me however, that with retirement looming, you might want to come up with some alternate uses for that spread so you don’t have to spend so much time mowing. How about and Olympic size pool, or a putt putt course?

  8. Lenore Diane says:

    Your films continue to get better. Do you feel pressured to come up with something new each week? Goodness knows I feel it, and I am just posting pictures.
    It’s funny, because mowing the lawn can be challenging. Having to stop – shoot – start – stop – shoot – start – stop – well, it makes the challenge even more challenging. You’re staying in shape with your Sunday films, Oma.


So, what's on your mind?

