Walking with a memory

Today is a two post day for Guest Post Week. Lenore writes her own blog and co-writes another, so she’s posted with her co-author. That’s the kind of guy I am, whatever kind that is. But this isn’t about me, it’s about Lenore. Did you know she invented natural gas? She did.Thanks so much, Lenore, for helping me keep the blog rolling. That and for natural gas.

Do you ever find yourself reflecting back to moments in time when your path crossed the path of another? You may have only crossed paths for a second, but the memory lingers for years and years.

For the past three months, I’ve been exercising regularly. I find I do most of my reflecting during my morning walks. In fact, I cannot walk without remembering the day Mr. Voris stopped me on the high school track.

We lived across the street from our high school. Oftentimes, I would walk across the street to walk/run around the school track. I typically exercised early in the morning or after dinner at night, and I would run into (not literally) the same walkers/runners most every time.

Mr. Voris was a professor at our school. He taught math. He didn’t teach simple math – he taught Calculus. Math was not my best subject, so I never had Mr. Voris as a teacher. Well, that’s not entirely true. During my senior year, Mr. Voris was my homeroom teacher.

Mr. Voris was a runner, and he was one of the regulars I would see at the track, week after week, month after month, and year after year.

Now let me tell you, I was (am) a fast walker. Super fast. I owe my fast pace to one of my sisters, with whom I walked to school when I was young. Apparently, she didn’t really want her younger sister walking alongside her. Sisters!

During one of my run/walks at the track, long after I graduated from the school, Mr. Voris stopped me. He had been watching how I moved my arms while I walked, and he suggested that I change the way I move my arms to increase the workout and better help my core.

His recommended arm movement was not subtle. Visualize yourself using one of those glider machines with your arms holding the bars and moving forward and backwards, while your elbows/arms bend and straighten from a 90-degree angle to a(n) 180-degree angle. Repeat the visualization several times at a quick pace.

Mr. Voris walked half a lap with me, making sure I had the move down properly. From that day forward, He would smile and nod at me whenever he saw me at the track. To this day, over 20yrs later, I move my arms the way he showed me.

To see me walk is entertaining.

While laughing with at me, a neighbor once told me I reminded him of someone being tortured. His comment made me chuckle, because this particular neighbor is also a (retired) math teacher, who walks daily, and carries himself in a way that has always reminded me of Mr. Voris.

Mr. Voris died several years ago, but I think of him every time I go walking.  Our paths crossed for only a moment, but the memory will last my lifetime.

The year I graduated from high school, our yearbook was dedicated to Dr. Voris. Neat, eh?

.:.

10 Comments on “Walking with a memory”

  1. omawarisan says:

    Sounds like a good guy. I wonder sometimes if people who live what they think is an unremarkable life ever realize how remarkable they are.

  2. What a fine dedication to his memory. Nicely done, LD. 🙂

  3. Blogdramedy says:

    What a lovely way to remember one of your teachers. Unlike some of us who had Stalin’s brother for Chemistry. (No bitterness there.)

    So, you’re a power walker. Me, too! I flail my arms up and down and use both feet on the gas and brake. 😉

    • Lenore Diane says:

      I would be way bummed if I had a bad Science teacher. I loved Science too much to waste it with a Stalin-type. Thank goodness there were no Stalins in our school. Or, if they did exist, they weren’t teaching my classes.
      I am a power walker, BD. A dorky – but quick – power walker. (smile)

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    How wonderful to have fond memories of your teachers. Sadly, I do not. Mr. Voris sounded like he was more than a teacher, though – and that’s why he’s memorable. I tried walking and twisting my waist at the same time in an effort to whittle it down some. Now, that looks funny!

    • Lenore Diane says:

      Oh, you and I should go walking together. I’d love to see the reactions we’d receive.
      You hit the nail on the head, Jean. Mr. Voris was ‘more’ than a teacher. He didn’t leave his teachable moments in the classroom, nor his care and concern for others.

  5. It is amazing how certain people leave impressions on us. And to think you still walk that way! Where’s the video of it?? I look AND sound like I’m being tortured when I exercise, because I am being tortured. Great post, Lenore.


So, what's on your mind?

