Pictures At An Exhibition

Sometimes I use my phone to talk to other people. More often, I use it to take pictures of things I think I might write about.

Today, I invite you to stroll through my Exhibition Of Pictures I Didn’t Manage To Complete A Post On. The cool kids call it EOPIDMTCAPO. If you don’t feel up to a stroll, please feel free to just use your eyes.

Contact Your Physician…

This is a bagel wrapped hot dog. It was sitting under a heat lamp and seemed very happy about being there.

Apparently glad to see the tongs.

I think I could have written about this hot dog. The problem I ran into was that I had too many jokes. They were interfering with the meat of the post. I’m not above cheap jokes, but I won’t have then interfere with the thrust of my writing.

My effort to make a post out of this picture didn’t last long. I wrapped it up when I saw the direction things were going. It was over in less than four hours.

Heaven Is In A Bowl

I love Lupie’s Cafe. Anyplace else to eat in Charlotte can only be second best.

Here is a bowl of their Texas chili –

Lupie’s Texas chili, with beans, cheese, onion and jalapeƱo, with corn bread, of course.
What more can you ask for? Nothing.

My plan was to write an ode to the goodness of the chili at Lupie’s. It never worked out. What happens in the chili pot in that restaurant is magical. I get too emotional to write about it. Maybe I’ll try again later.

A Peaceful Interlude

This is what a good day looks like.

There is no substitute.

Sadly, this is not today. If it were today, I could write about it. Could, but wouldn’t. Awe interferes with my writing.

Restroom Door Photography

“Looking at cleavage is like looking at the sun. You can’t stare at it long, it’s too risky. You get a sense of it, then you look away” – Jerry Seinfeld

Jerry’s advice also applies to restroom door photography. The wise photographer gets a quick shot. There isn’t time to focus on composition or to make sure the composition is in focus.

A successful bathroom door photo is completed in three steps:

  • See
  • Aim
  • Shoot

My scrupulous adherence to those steps are how I achieved the properly blurry look in these shots.

What does this mean?

Is it an instruction to men who want to go into the ladies’ room? Perhaps it is a notice to let anyone who is playing hide and seek with men that they don’t have to bother looking in this particular space.

Words are so dangerous.

In the interest of fairness, I present a picture of a men’s room door.

This looks like good advice. If you are ever propositioned by a restroom door handle of either gender, it is best to turn it down. To be fair, you can’t really say you don’t know where the handle has been. You can say that where it has been hasn’t been such a good place.

Turn it down.

A Tribute To Entrepreneurs

The exhibition ends with pictures that praise the spirit of the folks who work hard and drive the economy.

I work on the rough side of town. The folks who live there are caricatured as dangerous, lazy, or both. But the majority work hard as they strive toward something better. Lights come on early in the houses rented by people who hold two jobs. Kids go to school and work hard. People on the edge find a way to make ends meet.

An example of finding a way pops up from time to time in front of a shopping center. I’ve never seen the person behind this little business.

The tape sale works on the honor system. Customers take tape and leave cash. No one ever takes from the cash box. The day ends, the tape sale cart is rolled away. No one’s getting rich here. No one’s getting fat off the rest of us.

Life goes on, people find a way.

No, Wait

This post is too goofy to end on a picture reflecting on the dignity of the working class. The EOPIDMTCAPO must close with a sufficiently goofy picture.

Here is a banana hammock.

There is never an excuse for the other kind of banana hammock.

28 Comments on “Pictures At An Exhibition”

  1. Wendy says:

    Next time I have a yen to listen to a Mussorgsky symphony, I will envision these pictures. Wow…

    • omawarisan says:

      They’ve recently found an additional movement in mussgorsky’s attic. It is called theme from a banana hammock.

      • Wendy says:

        Now see, that sounds more like a Jimmy Buffett tune to me. Of course, ol’ Modest could have been one of Jimmy’s biggest influences…
        “Wastin’ away in remote Siberia,
        Looking for my lost bagel-wrapped hot dog,”

  2. Laura says:

    I made chili for dinner tonight, but I didn’t have cornbread, so now I feel retroactively dissatisfied.

  3. lbwoodgate says:

    I think the banana hammock is so much more humane. Being attached to a hook is so cruel.

  4. Michelle Gillies says:

    I like that you made the first picture and the last picture both things that…well…are shaped similar. Yeah, that’s it.
    It provides a well balanced and thought out EOPIDMTCAPO

  5. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Tribute to Entrepreneurs is a favorite. Quite moving as a matter of fact. I hope the U.S. will always make room for people like that, even though he’s one of the “47%” who just takes, and takes, and takes…

  6. Lenore Diane says:

    Phone …. sometimes you use your phone to talk.
    The first sentence threw me, because you left out phone. Hey. It happens. Plus, you had the bagel wrapped hot dog distracting you. It’s not your fault. Your not any less of a man. Really. It happens all the time. Oh, I’m still talking about the fact that ‘phone’ is missing. Just to be clear, I was not referring to the bagel wrapped hot dog.

    The chili looks yummy. When I lived in DC, I loved going to Hard Times Cafe, which also had the best chili. Perhaps Lupie and Hard Times could go head to head. It would be a win win.

  7. “There is never an excuse for the other kind of banana hammock.”—So true. I’m so glad you feel that way.

  8. Jill says:

    I kind of want to buy tape from that place, just to be a part of the community of people who (a) contribute to one person’s livelihood by purchasing something that you could easily buy anywhere else and (b) consistently resist the urge to steal the tape money.

    • omawarisan says:

      It is fascinating that there’s never a problem with the tape cart. Very little is safe there, but the tape cart is off limits.

      I’ve never seen the person who puts it out.

  9. Betty says:

    I’ll bet you get – and need – a lot of alone time after that bowl of chili.

    The banana hammock made me laugh out loud (I think LOL is overused, but I really did.)

  10. robincoyle says:

    That chili looks deadly. Dish me up a bowl!

  11. The Jagged Man says:

    Oma, I thought I was done at Contact Your Physician! I really did not think you could get on top of any other subject but you did. You topped it off nicely with chili and ended in a hammock Nice!

  12. spencercourt says:

    What? “Texas” chili with no beef? Doesn’t that violate the Texas Constitution?

  13. EOPIDMTCAPO . . . is that pronounced the way it reads? Just kind of wondering if the “DMT” is one of those tricky ones that actually sounds like /ish/ . I wouldn’t want to embarrass myself at the cool kids convention.

    If I had Photoshop, I would put the banana hammock under the good day picture. They go together. Like bagels and hot dogs.


So, what's on your mind?

