How To Make An Inspiring Music Video

Español: Logo Vectorial de YouTube

Today, You Tube, tomorrow the world.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It has occurred to me that videos that are intended to be moving or inspirational follow a formula. Watch any sporting event, any retrospective of a person’s career and you will see the following algebraic formula in action:

m + rv / s = i

In the formula that I am putting forth, m stands for music, rv represents random video, s is slow motion and i is inspiration. So with that, you can see that I am proposing that if you combine music with some random video of people doing stuff, some of which is in slow motion, you get an inspirational music video.

I made a video to test the formula. I used some random film footage and made some of it slow motion. I uploaded the result to YouTube. I grabbed a tune, tacked it on to my work and voilà, inspirational video.

The first time I watched what you’re about to see, I wept. It isn’t every day that I learn that I’m an algebraic and film making whiz. I was elated to know that my formula worked and that my video was so inspiring to me.

I’m sure that you’ll find this the most uplifting two minutes and forty-eight seconds of your life.

Now that you’ve seen it, I’d like your feedback. Be sure to let me know what you think by participating in the poll.

Don’t forget to comment too.

Tell me what my work has inspired you to do. Explain what message about the human condition you are taking away from this. I also want to hear about the scene that moved you the most. Was it the backward bicycle riding? The sandwich? The trombonist getting kicked up to the window?

33 Comments on “How To Make An Inspiring Music Video”

  1. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    It makes me want to eat a club sandwich…

  2. Laura says:

    I have mixed feelings about the use of black & white imagery in the film. On the one hand, it added a certain poignancy; on the other hand, it made the sandwiches less appealing. Well, I think it did. I guess it depends on what colors the sandwiches were originally.

  3. k8edid says:

    You had me at sandwich…although the high jumpers, in what looked like boxer shorts, piqued my interest as well. The dog on the table…and the cattle – well, you can’t go wrong with animals.

    Nice work. You are a genius.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    The gymnast in the diaper added that bit of creepy sexuality a la David Lynch. I also saw hints of Peckinpah and a smattering of Orson Welles. And then I got very hungry and couldn’t focus on anything but the sandwich. Finding out that there was no mayo – I know there’s a hidden meaning there but can’t quite put my finger on it. Man’s inhumanity to man? All in all, a solid effort from a genius in film direction and editing.

  5. Wendy says:

    There was something about that recurring scene of those men pouring out of the building, and flowing down the stairs….
    I am more in touch with my right brain. Excuse me while I go write The Great American Novel or paint a masterpiece of haunting beauty. Where’s my crayons?

  6. The gherkins. The lost art of wearing hats.

    I’m choking back the tears of inspiration and salivating for a little sweet pickle or two.

  7. I feel inspired to create a time machine and go back to teach those high jumpers the secrets of the Fosbury flop. Or learn to do a back flip in my underwear. I can do anything I set my mind to! Now, make me a sandwich! Oh, look. I seem to feel inspired to subjugate others. Where did THAT come from?

  8. Debbie says:

    I liked the dog jumping on the table. That’s something my Sheltie wouldn’t even consider. The suited men spilling out of the building kind of reminded me of To Kill a Mockingbird — they looked liked they’d been days in a stuffy courtroom or something. The trombonist? Yeah, I can see that, leaping to high windows and such. What can I say? I’ve certainly seen dumber stuff on YouTube!

  9. Michelle Gillies says:

    I can’t get past thinking of all the money I spent on my film and television diploma. Yes, it made me weep.

  10. interventionista says:

    Ohh my god that was so beautiful! Is it dusty in this office? sniff sniff sob! I actually used this formula in college for a video project. the slow motion really helped to capture the drama of the beer pong game and using the theme from “Chariots of Fire” perfectly accompanied the thrilling victory as well as the heartbreaking defeat of my roommates =)
    http://interventionista.wordpress.com/

  11. Very Wittgensteinian, especially the backward bicycling (man, such a layered metaphor, whew) and the trombonist juxtaposed with electric guitar.

    What’s the tune? I can’t place it. This has me troubled, vexed, perplexed, in a dither. . .

  12. The pop of color made me sob. Loud, wracking sobs. It was like a tease. So beautiful. I’m nominating you for an independent Oscar (is there such thing? There should be such thing)

  13. omawarisan says:

    I’m inspired to nominate you for a Lifetime Achievement Award Oscar for Film Criticism.

  14. Betty says:

    It was a little too early in the morning to look at the guy wearing what appeared to be diapers.

  15. Lenore Diane says:

    The gymnast. His form, flip, and final stance. I am certain I can do anything I put my mind to doing. Thank you, Oma.

  16. Blogdramedy says:

    I always learn something new here on Blurt. Like how I don’t like instrumental music.


So, what's on your mind?

