A Dispatch From The End Of The Road

Hello, from the Omawarisan Compound in Key West.

I’ve taken a few days away from life to put my feet up and enjoy my best friends. They’ve asked me to put my feet back down, but whenever that happens, I walk. When I walk, I get interrupted by rum or beer. Then I sing and dance in the sun.

When I reach the sing and dance stage, pretty much the entire island agrees that I should be putting my feet up and writing. I’m showing them. I haven’t gone out to meet rum yet today, I’m writing first. That way, when I sing, they won’t be able to tell me to put my feet up and write.

Today is November 1. For those of you keeping score at home, that’s two days before my 51st birthday. November 1 is big for one other reason.

Next year on this date, I will be retired. I won’t be a part of the police department anymore. No more family squabbles, no more inspections, no more crime scenes, no more bodies, no more climbing tall things to talk to desperately sad people. Peace.

Maybe I’ll make words and maybe someone will buy them and probably the name my mom and dad gave me will be on the cover and maybe I’ll do the talk shows.

One year. I’ll be out of the job, safe.

I’m gonna go practice my celebration dance.

Oma

P.S. – Beards don’t itch when they grow in the sun.

23 Comments on “A Dispatch From The End Of The Road”

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    Wow. I’m not at any compound, yet I feel a million miles away. Where have I been these past several posts? I am glad to meet up with you here – at the end of the road. More glad to see you again before you turn another year older.
    Good to hear you are enjoying time in a compound surrounded by friends. Of course, that’s probably want you to believe so you’ll be more willing to do their dirty work.
    Here’s to the road ahead, Oma. There is a sweet irony in the title, as the end of this road will lead to another road. (I probably didn’t need to spell that out for you. I’ll excuse myself now, before the babbling gets worse. Clearly, I need to get out more.)

  2. Wendi says:

    Kick up those heels Oma!

  3. Obviously, you didn’t bring The Jolie with you, because the post would have an entirely different tone. Enjoy Key West, have a happy birthday, and … I’m really jealous that you’ll be retiring in a year. But I’m really happy for you too!

  4. Soooooo…what do you want for your birthday?

  5. Michelle Gillies says:

    Happy holidays, Happy Birthday and yeah on the countdown beginning for your retirement. Celebrate, celebrate and celebrate some more. It looks good on you.

  6. Z.N. Singer says:

    I definitely recommend pursuing writing full time when that happens. Use the time inbetween to figure out what to write, and maybe look up some details. I look forward to seeing what happens when writing is no longer just a hobby squeezed into free moments.

  7. It’s your birthday week you can sing and dance if you want too. Wishing you a very Happy Birthday Be mindful of sharks. . .the countdown has begun,

  8. IIf someone is telling you to put your feet down but stop singing and dancing, that person needs some rum too. One more year. Hot Joe’s best friend is on his last deployment. His LAST DEPLOYMENT EVER. Then he comes home and two months later (so that’s 10 months total – a bit before you but 13 years younger -hey it’s military) he will be retired. Wow. You both will finally not face danger every morning (or 8 months at a time). You’ll both be collecting money while not working. And one of you will suddenly have a wife and four kids who have been living in Kansas while you are stationed in California. He may be younger, but you’re luckier.

  9. Wendy says:

    Happy Birthday! Happier Birthday next year!

  10. The Jagged Man says:

    Sweet, Sweet and Sweet.

  11. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Lovely. What a lovely break for you. Enjoy every minute. And Happy Birthday to a wonderful man!

  12. wiremann says:

    Fantastic retirement. What is your secret?

  13. lbwoodgate says:

    Waking up (or not) whenever you want to is the greatest part of retirement. Well maybe not the greatest but it comes in at a close second or third.

  14. Debbie says:

    Sounds as if you’ve got “senioritis,” already prepping for retirement! I don’t want to be Debbie Downer, but remember, you’ve got 365 days of a hard job, an often scary job, so once this nice break is over, buckle down and be mindful! You do want to get safely to your retirement, don’t you?! Happy B-day — have a rum for me (‘cos my rum-and-Coke days are a thing of the past!)

  15. Next time, rum, write, then sing. Whatever you do, enjoy yourself. Happy birthday!

  16. Blogdramedy says:

    10-4. Raising a glass to November 1, 2013. 10-42.

  17. sandsys says:

    Just be careful not to get short-timers disease. We want you writing on into your next phase of life. It’s good out here.

  18. Laura says:

    Happy birthday!

    If you write words and sell them and put your real name on the cover, I’ll buy a copy. Well, to be honest, I’ll only buy it if you tell us the name of the thing you wrote. Because I think I only know your first name, and buying every new book by anyone with that first name might get a little expensive.

  19. If I’m doing the math right…that means today is your birthday.

    Happy Birthday Oma!

    Please have a beer for me at Sloppy Joe’s to celebrate.

  20. Pie says:

    Happy birthday, Oma. Come November 1st 2013, I’ll be popping the champagne cork with you. Here’s a to a great, rum filled future.

  21. spencercourt says:

    I presume you’re in a “family friendly” compound…. 😉

  22. omawarisan says:

    Thanks everyone, great birthday. Being warm is good.


So, what's on your mind?

