Thanksgiving Is Here

Deliciously shaped.

Cranberry sauce comes two ways. Home made, and the right way. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few years ago, I wrote of home made cranberry sauce, young love and an unwise choice I made.

I mentioned in that story that a much younger version of me made a remark at the Thanksgiving table that kind of insulted the memory of my girlfriend’s late grandmother. I made that remark in front of her grandfather.

Tomorrow, on Thanksgiving Day, I will give you the part that was missing in my first telling of the story. I will tell you what I said.

For those who need a refresher, or those new to the party, the first post in this sad tale is available here.

The rest of the tale will arrive here on Blurt on Thursday.

29 Comments on “Thanksgiving Is Here”

  1. T E Stazyk says:

    So this is not going to be one of those “and she ended up becoming my wife” stories?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. The Jagged Man says:

    Cranberry Sauce, by the law of all things consumer driven, must be circular in shape with rings through out and shall be cut in the shape of medallions (Spanish medallions or otherwise). On this day forth, and every day since the industrial revolution, we the people decree it so. (As a side note I must confess that home made cranberry sauce ain’t half bad. Really).
    On a more personal note: May you and yours have a Happy and Safe Thanksgiving.

  3. Laura says:

    Enjoy your cranberry jello. I’ll be feasting on my brother’s homemade cranberry sauce.

  4. mikegee64 says:

    This is, without a doubt, one of my favorite stories about you. Not only did I get to see your look of complete embarrassment and shame when you got home that night, but the next day I got to hear the story several other times, not only from the young lady in question, but also from her younger sister and brother, all of whom were on the cross country team with me. We were running a “Turkey Trot” the next day and it seemed that every half hour, someone came up to me and said “Did you hear what your brother did?”

    Share it with the masses… It will be healing and therapeutic for us both. LOL

    • omawarisan says:

      I kind of felt like I was able to get thru my formative years with very few “did you hear” moments. And then came that day.

      Even her cat held a grudge. He peed on me.

  5. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Insulting cranberry sauce is acceptable and forgivable. Slandering pumpkin pie – not so much.

  6. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, OMA!

  7. I grew up with cranberries (Ocean Spray) in a can and still like it best. Unfortunately I married into a purist Italian family that loves to cook and demands homemade. The good news is I can make cranberry sauce so I always offer to bring it. If I ever consider marrying again I plan to ask early on “Do you like cranberries in a can at Thanksgiving ” If he doesn’t it could be a deal breaker.

  8. Linda Sand says:

    In the can is so superior I wonder why anyone would go to the effort of doing otherwise.

  9. Debbie says:

    Holidays and traditions can really trip up couples. With each person remembering and longing for what became fixtures of their youth, blending that by dining with the other’s family can be so disappointing. I remember one Christmas, longing for turkey but being served LAMB. Yikes, I didn’t even know people ate lamb! As for the cranberry sauce, you’re right — can’s the way to go. Can’t wait to read “the rest of the story.”

  10. Wendy says:

    I am only mildly domestic, but I do enjoy making cranberry sauce. It is aesthetically pleasing to watch the water change from clear to rich ruby, with every shade between. Plus, the berries make that fun popping noise.

  11. A friend of mine used to fight with her brother every year for the piece of cranberry sauce with the imprint of the number on it.

  12. A cliffhanger! Or cranberry bog-hanger, or something like that. Can’t wait for the next serving. Have a happy Thanksgivng!

  13. robincoyle says:

    Not fair. You keep us hanging? Not fair, Oma.

  14. I see that the homemade stuff is good, and I’ve tried it when other people make it with the litlte bits of orange peel and all, but I just love the canned stuff soooo much. Even on sandwiches the next day. But cranberry sauce is definitely a polarizing issue in many families 🙂

  15. Michelle Gillies says:

    Can’t wait to find the next post.

    • Michelle Gillies says:

      For the record we are Ocean Spray can people as well. You know that commercial where the old lady with hot sauce says, “I put that $#@? on everything!” , well that is the way He-Who is with his canned cranberry sauce. We buy it by the case. That and ketchup.


So, what's on your mind?

