The Sunday Film Series: McAdenville Christmas Lights

I am not a Christmas decoration guy. I like the holidays, like decorations, but the world is usually better off if I keep my part of putting those decorations up to a minimum.

Because I’m not a decoration guy, I usually pass on going to see the lights in McAdenville, NC. McAdenville is a town in Gaston County, NC, just west of Charlotte. Every December this little town declares itself Christmastown, USA. I’ll bet that they are not the only ones who call themselves that, but McAdenville is the only one I live near.

Today was a bad day, so I went for a drive to relax. I had the top down because, hey, 58 degree December night, why not? One turn lead to another and I stopped in McAdenville. A drive through Christmastown is very stop and go. Tonight’s video is a twenty-five minute long drive through the lights, time lapsed into.seventy one seconds.

A tip if you’re ever in the area and decide to take in McAdenville – you can enter the town to see the lights from Interstate 85 or eastbound Highway 74. The wait on 74 is much shorter.

Also, if you can do the ride in a convertible, people talk to you in traffic. It’s kind of hard to continue a bad day with little kids calling Merry Christmas to you out of their parents’ sunroof

 

10 Comments on “The Sunday Film Series: McAdenville Christmas Lights”

  1. Blogdramedy says:

    Nicely done. I wish you more bad days and drives with the top down. Okay…just the drives. Merry Christmas…from a kid who loves convertibles but who was forced to give up her Mustang by the Mister because “we’re renovating” and who now travels around in a beige SUV.

  2. I hope today is better.

  3. Pie says:

    A bad day for you, but a good day for us, as far as seeing Christmas lit streets are concerned. The electricity bill must go through the roof at that time of year. Glad to hear that today’s better for you.

    • bryan says:

      Mcadenville is an old North Carolina mill town and the mill company owned most of the land, homes, and in this case the local power company. Every year the Christmas bonus to the residents/employees was the textile mill would pay the power bill for the month of December.

  4. Betty says:

    I hope someone else was doing the driving while you filmed.

  5. Michelle Gillies says:

    Driving with the top down any time of year always makes me feel better. But the little kids wishing you Merry Christmas, that’s kind of magic.


So, what's on your mind?

