Soup Or Bowl II, The Super Bowl Live Blog

The San Francisco 49ers' Super Bowl XXIX troph...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good morning, it is 6:30 am, Super Bowl Sunday. I’m at work. Somewhere there is coverage of the big game on some channel. I’m not watching, yet.

This is where I’ll be blogging and responding to comments about the game, the ads and whatever else comes up. I’ll update through the day and make continuous updates throughout the game.

In response to a comment in my previous post, I am running a contest. I don’t know what the prize is, perhaps it is my deep and heartfelt respect. Here is the proposition. We all know that the opposing coaches in today’s game are brothers. Yes, same parents, raised in the same house, the whole deal. How many times will we be reminded of that fact?

Post your guess of how many brother references we’ll have during the game in the comment section. I am calling this the Harbaugh Number and I am guessing 25 references to them being brothers from the moment the game commentators come on the air until the coaches shake hands after the game. Note that I will not be counting any references during half time because if you think I’m watching Beyonce you’ve got another thing coming.

Welcome to the big day, more to come!

9:05 a.m. – I forgot to post my prediction. San Francisco by 7. Kaepernick presents too many problems for the Ravens defense.

3 pm – Home. Got stuff to make gumbo. Going to be cutting up for a bit.

3:17 – Video of players arriving. What is the deal with wearing headphones and acting like you don’t know anyone is around you?

4:09 – Damn, no flour. The store is going to be a mad house.

4:44 – I was right. Isn’t anyone at home watching the game?

5:20 – Ray Lewis uses God to justify murder, still doesn’t answer the question.

5:24 – Boomer Esiason hits Ray Lewis over the fence. Well done, Terp.

6:05 – game announcers on. The Harbaugh count starts now…and they hit the first brother reference in less than a minute.ย  The Harbaugh number is 1.

6:20 – Jennifer Hudson, impressive job outsinging children from Sandy Hook. Would it have killed you to at least turn around and acknowledge their presence?

6:31: kickoff

6:37: Niners three and out, Ravens off to a good start. I’m not in favor.

6:40 – Ravens TD. Damn.

6:54 – 49’er’s field goal. Is that too many apostrophes in the team name? 7- 3 Ravens.

6:59 – brothers reference. The Harbaugh number is 2

7:01 – and just like that, the Harbaugh Number is 3.

6:58 – There’s going to be a new Wizard of Oz film. I wonder if I need to see the first one.

7:08 – Jim and John the reactions. The Harbaugh Number is 4 as the second quarter starts.

7:09 – and the Harbagh family. The Harbaugh number is 5. Jim Nantz can’t leave it alone.

7:10 – 9er’s first down. Nice. Ray Lewis roasted.

7:13 – Fumble San Francisco. Um…Horse collar tackle??

7:22 – TD Baltimore 14-3

7:24 – That dark-haired woman in the show about the waitresses is disturbing looking.

7:28 – SF intercepted by Baltimore.

7:36 – Fake FG attempt by Ravens fails. Not a bad call, but it didn’t work out.

7;48 – Could he have been more open? Ravens 21 – 3.

7:58 – 21 -6 Baltimore at half time. The Harbaugh Number stands at five. I am NOT watching Beyonce.

8:30 – Half time about to end. And a brother reference! 6 is the number

8:32 – Wow. That’s not good for SF. 28-6, Ravens.

8:37 – lights out, now half the lights out.

8:59 – Lights still half out. A lot of jibber jabber. God bless Mr. T.

9:10 – Game back on.

9:15 – I’m starting to consider abandoning ship. I’ve got to be up at 4:30 for work. if the Niners aren’t going to make a game of this soon…

9:24 – And as soon as I show no faith, touchdown SF! 28-13. Also a reference to the brothers. Harbaugh number is at 7.

9:32 – Well, it appears I’m going to be tired at work tomorrow. 28-20. SF coming back.

9:40 – Fumble, 49’er’s have it!

9:45 – SF Adds 3. 28-23. They’re within a touchdown.

9:57 Sf stops Baltimore at the goal. FG Ravens, 31-23

10:04 – It is official. Kapernick is the man. SF touchdown 31-29.

10:15 – Really. the dark haired waitress girl in that show they keep advertising is scary looking.

10:21 Field Goal puts Ravens up by 5. 34-29.

10:35 -aaaaauuugh. I think there was a helmet to helmet hit on third down, but game over.

10:38 – Ravens running the clock out. Brothers reference. harbaugh number is 8

10:45 – game over. oh well.

27 Comments on “Soup Or Bowl II, The Super Bowl Live Blog”

  1. I’ll guess 16 references. I hope I win. This contest is the first reason I’ve had to be interested in the game.

  2. Wendy says:

    32. Maybe that is low, because these things last, like what, 10 or 12 hours? Ah well, I will stick with my first instinct.

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I’m not going to watch the Super Bowl or be a part of it in any way other than to play your contest. I’m going with 120. From what I remember of sports announcers, they can really beat a dead horse deader.

  4. That is so cool that they are brothers. I will def. tune into your live blog, not having a TV to watch the game.

    Okay, my official guess is 24. And more to the point, do you have nachos at your house? I am indifferent about football but I am un-indifferent about nachos…

  5. Laura says:

    I’ll guess 42. I’ll have to check back here for the results, because I’ll be watching the Puppy Bowl.

    Have you finalized the rules about what counts as a reference? Would this be one or two?

    Announcer 1: Hey, did I mention they were brothers?
    Announcer 2: Do you think Thanksgiving dinner will be awkward this year? Because they’re brothers?

    What about this?

    Announcer 1: Hey, did I mention they were brothers?
    Announcer 2: Wow! Look at that totally shocking thing that just happened in the actual game!
    Announcer 1: The two coaches will be talking about that at family gatherings for years to come.
    Announcer 2: I’m sure they will. Because they’re brothers.

    I’m almost tempted to watch the game to try to score this. Almost.

    • omawarisan says:

      The first example is one continuous reference. The second is two references since they are separated by an in game incident.

      Are any of the puppies brothers?

      • Laura says:

        They haven’t introduced the dogs yet, but they just announced that two of the humans who will be giving commentary are twins. Twins! That’s even more brother-y than brothers.

        • omawarisan says:

          Damn. I might have to skip the game.

          • Laura says:

            The final Puppy Bowl tally was:

            Human twins: 1 pair
            Puppy brothers: 1 pair
            Puppy brother/sister: 1 pair

            I’m pretty sure they only mentioned these relationships once per pair. I’m also pretty sure the Puppy Bowl will always beat the Super Bowl — I’m pretty sure the Super Bowl will never have a brother / sister pair in my lifetime.

  6. Debbie says:

    Do you put okra in your gumbo? Sorry, but that stuff is really inedible. My guess is 30. I’m trusting you to keep up with the count, as I’ll be examining those expensive commercials (and snacking on anything but okra!!)

  7. 7:02 They were talking brothers. Who is keeping count? How many so far? ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. k8edid says:

    Gumbo!! Okra!! Is there a game today?

    • omawarisan says:

      There is and the important number at half time is the Harbaugh number – 5 brother/coach references so far.

      I made some killer gumbo and it is the subject of tomorrow’s film/post.

      • k8edid says:

        Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I’m thinking it is time I made some gumbo, as well. I was just kidding about the game – hubby had it on and i fell asleep to it, just like any other Sunday…

  9. planetross says:

    I’m reading this after the fact, so I’ll guess 8 references. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It was like I was there: I laughed, I cried, it became a part of me.


So, what's on your mind?

