So, I Started A New Site

Image representing Netflix as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

I’ve been curious about what it would be like to write on a consistent theme. I enjoy writing whatever words are ready to come out of me, but I couldn’t help wondering what writing was like for people who had a focus.

Then came a night last week. I was watching a movie that I’d never heard of and really enjoying it. As far as I knew, no one I know had seen Jiro Dreams Of Sushi. If they had, I was a little ticked that they hadn’t told me about it.

“What if I told people about good movies?” I thought. A quick draft later it hit me; that could be my theme – movies I like. I’m watching a lot of stuff on Netflix…movies I like on Netflix!

So, my new site is Stream These Flix. It isn’t a movie review site, it’s just about movies I enjoy and recommend. I’m focusing on newer movies that haven’t gotten a lot of exposure and some old hidden gems. You won’t find Iron Man on my movie site, but I hope you’ll find something you like.

I wrote a couple posts, put them up and had a sort of quiet grand opening earlier this week. WordPress is still trying to figure out how I’m showing no page hits, yet getting subscribers. So, I have no idea how good a start the new blog is off to.

Stop by some time. And if you’re concerned, Blurt isn’t shutting down. Writing here is way too much fun to stop. If either site stops, it won’t be this one.

27 Comments on “So, I Started A New Site”

  1. That’s an amazing coincidence. So did I. I’ll check yours out, tout de suite. Here’s mine: http://wp.me/p2Y1t7-2d

  2. benzeknees says:

    Congrats on the new blog! I so rarely watch movies I don’t think I would be a great audience for your new blog, but I wish you all the luck in the world with it.

  3. I will run by, I am not a big movie watcher until I can watch from home. I am always looking for hidden gems though.

  4. Pie says:

    You already know you have a subscriber here, Oma. No hesitation.

    I like movies, but I don’t watch enough of them. I like to be shown something new, so I’m looking forward to this. I don’t have Netflix, but when I eventually subscribe, I’ll be all over it like a rash.

  5. There’s no button. Maybe people are getting it in their reader? Those views don’t count.

    Are you going to add a subscribe button? I don’t go to my reader. At. All.

  6. Like you I don’t have any theme to my blog except to write what I feel like writing. It is comforting to know you do the same.
    That being said, I am looking forward to finding out some of your picks for movies. Where I am staying right now has Netflix so I am using it for the first time and have found some pretty interesting stuff…and some real crap. Of course I was lucky enough to be able to watch “House of Cards” which I think is amazing but not a movie. Anyway I will check out the new blog. Thanks.

  7. Blogdramedy says:

    So…more of you to love. I can dig it.

  8. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Does a brain fart require much effort? How does it begin? Please answer these and other questions from your fans….. Get it? Farts and fans have a role to play in clearing the air……….. I’m excited about your new gig. Tell me about Netflix…. Wow! Suddenly I’m feeling some cranium pressure and I can’t sit down.

  9. Debbie says:

    I don’t watch many movies, but I’ll definitely check you out. Lots of luck with the new venture, too. I tried running a couple of blogs early in my blogging days and found it WAY too much to keep up with — hope you have a better experience!

  10. Assuming you’ll discuss each of the movies in the Beethoven franchise. Judge Reinhold. That poor bastard.

    Looking forward to it.

  11. robincoyle says:

    Excellent timing for me. I am staring at a blank Netflix queue and don’t have the energy to research what to put on it. I’ll let you do all the heavy lifting! Thanks Oma!

  12. planetross says:

    Jiro Dreams Of Sushi is one movie that I really really liked emphatically.
    … it’s a hard sell for friends … “what’s it about?” … “sushi” … “sushi is sushi” … “no it’s not … it’s all about quality, freshness, … just watch it!”

  13. Great idea. I’m always looking for “off the beaten path” movies. I’m heading over now.


So, what's on your mind?

