Five Routine Minutes: My Dad And A Hard Working Five Year Old

On Sunday, I took my parents to North Carolina State University. We went to see my son play with the school’s Pep Band at a women’s basketball game.

Here is a picture I drew of my folks and the Omawari-son after the game.

How do you accessorize a breast cancer awareness t-shirt?

Yes, I know it isn’t my usual caliber of work. Even Picasso had a bad day now and again.

After we had dinner, we were on the way to drop my son off at his dorm. He pointed out a favorite restaurant of his. It is a Korean place that I’ve written a “Five Minutes” post about before. The conversation reminded my Dad of an encounter he had with the owner of a shoe repair business, a Korean gentleman.

My Dad took a pair of shoes in for repair. He’d patronized this particular shoemaker’s shop before. When he went back to pick up his repaired shoes he struck up a conversation with the business man. Why would he do that? I’ve mentioned before, my parents talk to strangers.

Dad continued –

The cobbler looked at him, smiled and said

Realizing that time might have gotten away from him, my Dad tried to recover with a quick joke.

I forgot to draw my father’s hair. He has much better hair than I do.

As my Dad paid for the repaired shoes, the shoemaker showed he was just as quick. He thanked him for his business and added…

A musical interlude by the North Carolina State University Pep Band:

22 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: My Dad And A Hard Working Five Year Old”

  1. I think I see where you get some of your humor from. It must be your mom because your dad still has his! Loved it Oma!

  2. Places where time stands still:
    Pennsylvania Dutch country
    Work
    Korean shoemaker shops

  3. That was very amusing. Your dad is very quick on his feet!

  4. planetross says:

    That shoe repairman must be pretty good if your Dad’s shoes lasted another 26 years before needing to be repaired again!

  5. Hysterical! Your Dad is funny but I think the Korean Dude was pretty amusing too.

  6. Debbie says:

    Looks like the Lady Wolfpack lost this one — sorry for that. Still, you’ve gotta love the pep band (they’ve very peppy), and spending time as three generations. And your story about the Korean shoe repairman is way cool — clever, on both sides!

  7. That’s awesome! You don’t know how quickly time passes until you watch it go by in the face of a child. Or hear that they’re married when you still picture them as a first grader.

  8. Betty says:

    Great family photo! Also, Kashmir is my favorite Led Zep tune. Very cool selection for these young kids today . You know, this post could also be filed under The Cover Songs.

  9. robincoyle says:

    Your dad sure knows how to get lots of life out of his shoes . . . he repairs them once every 26 years?

  10. Blogdramedy says:

    That cobbler…the sole of brevity.

  11. Pie says:

    Your dad is hilarious. I can see where you got it from. You only need your parents to start their own blog now for blogging to be a full family affair.

  12. Pie says:

    Oh, and you can’t beat a bit of Zepp. Kashmir is one of my favourites too. Maybe they can do Immigrant Song, or Bron Yr Aur Stomp next time.

  13. We Found Him Captain! says:

    The shoemaker is a real gentleman and a hard worker. He financed his son and younger daughter’s college education by fixing shoes. His wife cooks a hot lunch every day and brings it to the shop. They sit in the back room and eat together. They both love the USA and appreciate the opportunity to be here.
    I’m looking for an old pair of shoes that need fixing, so that I can stop in to see them again soon.


So, what's on your mind?

