Me And Hugo Chavez, Down By The Schoolyard

Hugo Chávez, President since 1999.

Buh-bye (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And then there was the day that I realized I had been at my job for many years.

On that day I realized that I had a solution somewhere in my head for just about everything. When the uncommon happened, I had the response. I’d seen it before.

That was a fun realization to have. It gave me flexibility that I enjoy. When the uncommon happens and no one knows what to do, I go do what needs doing. When it works and people look surprised, sometimes I’ll admit I’ve seen the problem before and someone showed me the solution.

Other times I’ll act as surprised as they are. I’ll shrug, act like I just made up the solution and say something like “damn, that worked?” Then I leave before I start laughing.

So, Hugo Chavez. Here today, gone tomorrow. For Hugo, yesterday was tomorrow. I thought I should write something silly about the guy since I care about you all. Many of you are hurting today, thinking back on all your times with Chavez – the silly nicknames he had for you, all the birthday parties. The man loved getting cards, didn’t he?

But writing something about him when I was feeling the loss too was troublesome. Then I remembered I’d already written about Hugo Chavez and (for good measure) Simon Bolivar. At that moment, I realized I’ve been writing Blurt a long time.

I’m not going to pretend that I just made the post, since I just told you that I do that sometimes. I’m just going to tell you it is here for you to reflect upon in your hour of loss…or whatever.

18 Comments on “Me And Hugo Chavez, Down By The Schoolyard”

  1. Wendy says:

    That poignant “Buh-bye” brought tears to my eyes… Onions do, too.

  2. Todd says:

    Hugo Chavez will be mourned. No, really. That was an order. HE WILL BE MOURNED! Guards, seize him!

  3. That was fun. I missed it the first time round.

  4. Debbie says:

    I always heard we’re supposed to say something nice about the dead — even the bad guys. So I’ll just point out he was really rocking those French cuffs, wasn’t he?

  5. robincoyle says:

    Adios, Hugo baby.

  6. I’m thinking that if the country wants to continue with a dictator, well, I know someone we could send. . . and Debbie, I know we aren’t supposed to speak evil of the dead, and it’s been bewildering just what to do. You said it well.

  7. Congrats on your long and continuing run.

    According to my (your) calculations, your friend is now 206% dead. Hang in there.

  8. Going with Debbie’s “say something nice” theme on this one…He wore his red hat well.

  9. planetross says:

    Hugo Chavez gave us “Les Misérables” and “Chavez Regal” whiskey.

    I heard Madonna is going to play him in a movie musical about his life too!


So, what's on your mind?

