Where The Wild Things Are – The Freight Elevator

Today, I was hesitant to get on an elevator at work.

English: This is the controls on a dover elevator

Three please. (Photo credit: dieselducy CC BY-SA 3.0)

There’s not much I hesitate to do at work. Wearing body armor and various weapons does tend to make one more bold. But today, I got a little tentative in our headquarters building.

So There I Was, Minding My Own Business

Fifty percent of good stories start with someone minding their own business. All the rest start with someone sitting in a bar. I was at work, so I was minding my own business.

I slipped in to the building through a secondary door and hit the up button to call the freight elevator. The freight is my preferred ride because it is faster than the main elevators, and the big bosses rarely use it. The car came up from the basement. The doors rattled, then opened. I stood there, looking at him.

He was alone in the elevator. A temporary contractor’s id card hung from his belt. I didn’t move until he said “hi, going up?” It was only two floors. I supposed I could fight him off that long if it came down to it. “Three please”, I said as I walked on.

The elevator doors closed, I took up a position behind and to his right so that I could use the wall to protect my sidearm if he attacked. It was a good angle to examine him from. As we reached the second floor, I felt certain that I knew who he was.

Second Floor – Dingggg!

The door slid open at the second floor. An old friend walked on as the person with the temporary badge walked off. He looked at who was getting off, then at me, then back at him. When the door closed, he spoke.

“Did you see that?”

“Yeah man, I was in here. I saw.”

“You were on the elevator with The Ogre.”

“From “Where The Wild Things Are”. Yes, I thought I was seeing things!”

“Nope.”

The door opened on three and I walked off. Errand completed, I left the building by using the main elevator.

I’m bold, but I’m not foolish.

Some of you are wondering which monster it was. It was the one in the red and yellow striped shirt. He was wearing pants though. Also, he didn’t have on his horns.

26 Comments on “Where The Wild Things Are – The Freight Elevator”

  1. Body armor and weapons? I thought you were a CPA.

  2. I once shared a doctor’s waiting room with Curious George’s owner. His yellow outfit and giant hat looked silly in there. Also, there was the time I saw another character from childhood books while shopping at the mall. I don’t have any idea what Babar was doing in Victoria’s Secret, but it was definititely him.

  3. Elevators are scary…especially freight elevators.

  4. The Wild Things what a great book. I guess, this story would have ended a lot differently if Ogre had roared his terrible roar and you had shot him. I can see the headlines now. . .

  5. Why do you get to hang out with the celebrities?

  6. I have a fear of elevators. I have to use them in New York, obviously, but if anything is askew, I tend to panic, run off, then psych myself up again to get back on. On the other hand, if I’m alone it’s a great place to sing. 🙂

  7. Debbie says:

    Women are taught NOT to get on an elevator with a solitary man inside. A solitary ogre? Never! At least you had body armor and probably a gun. Who’d have thought the scary things would show up inside??

  8. planetross says:

    I met Waldo in Uruguay once, but no Wear the Wild Things Are people.
    It’s best to let them do what they want: it’s there show really.

  9. […] *Want to know more about The Blue Suede Devil? Click over and say HI on his blog Blurt.  […]

  10. spencercourt says:

    I guess when you retire, we’ll hear more good stories that originate from the “bar” side of life…lol!

  11. audreyhipbone says:

    Wearing pants is a pretty good way for a monster to disguise himself.


So, what's on your mind?

