Five Routine Minutes: A Cauliflower Sheep

I help teach a class designed to help police officers have more effective interactions with people who are dealing with mental illnesses. My work in that class is something I really enjoy. I’m proud of the team I work with to put the training on. C.I.T. class weeks are my favorite work weeks.

People from the community bring food in for the students to snack on. It is a nice little extra treat for everyone.

Today, I walked into the class before one of my lecture sections. Someone had brought in a sheep that was made out of cauliflower. It was sitting on the counter at the back of the room.

I can be a picky eater, but most food doesn’t disturb me.

There were a lot of jokes made about the sheep. One of the other instructors piled a bunch of raisins behind the sheep right before I started my talk.

As soon as I started teaching, they placed the cauliflower ram where it was in my line of sight, then left the room. Few things get into your head like a cauliflower sheep does.

Some of you are saying to yourselves, “Oma is making this up. There are no cauliflower sheep.” Yes, there are.

Now it is in your head.

38 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: A Cauliflower Sheep”

  1. Laura says:

    That’s adorable. And it looks like a pretty nice spread. I’d rather have a sheep made of cauliflower than a cauliflower made of sheep.

  2. List of X says:

    I really don’t like cauliflower, so my reaction would be “Ugh, ewwwwe….”. But it does look pretty cool, though.

  3. benzeknees says:

    Really neat, it would be great at a brunch smorgasboard!

  4. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I adore it. I want one as a pet. It would be far less trouble than my demanding Boston Terriers. Could it be bronzed? I swear, some people have a lot of time on their hands. I want an eggplant goat to go along with my sheep. How about a cabbage cow? Have your people get on it.

  5. Debbie says:

    My skepticism has turned into belief. A picture really IS worth a thousand words! I’m not a fan of cauliflower, but somebody went to a LOT of trouble — and it does kind of have a cute face!

  6. Adorable! An instant hit at any pot luck or meeting. Was it custom made or ordered? Do you have the DIY instructions? Did you enjoy it with dip? I might tie a piece of red pepper into a cute little bow…or would that a tad much…
    Anyone can connect donuts to your meeting….a Cauliflower sheep is special.

    • omawarisan says:

      I think the person that brought it, made it. Someone told me she had a name for it. A first name, not a descriptive name like cauliflower sheep.

  7. I have one of those sheep. It is a collector piece made by Enesco. I collect sheep figurines and a friend found it and gave it to me. I’ll have to remember to put it on a vegetable tray sometime!

  8. stevebetz says:

    I love the sheep! I probably wouldn’t have been able to get a coherent sentence out the entire time!

    • omawarisan says:

      It is distracting. I tend to walk and look around the room and keep people engaged. It was hard looking at people near the sheep because you can’t help but look at it and wonder why.

  9. Betty says:

    Wow, that’s a bit disturbing.

  10. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Your uncle Sam’s brother was Captain of a sheep. And that’s no mutton.

  11. Blogdramedy says:

    Talent. For some people…they grow a bumper crop of it. For myself I’d be partial to the guy who put down the raisins.

  12. The human brain (which I always think of when I see cauliflower) fascinates me. What makes a person think, “Hmm..I’ll bet that cauliflower would make a might festive crudite?” And yet. . . it is indeed adorable.

  13. That is some pretty creative cauliflower treatment. It is cute but also a little unnerving as its eyes seem to follow you around.

  14. Pie says:

    I would’ve believed your cauliflower sheep story even without the photos, because in Oma’s world, anything is possible.

  15. If you hadn’t posted the picture, I wouldn’t have believed you.


So, what's on your mind?

