Happy Birthday, L. Frank Baum

English: Photograph of Maud Gage Baum, L. Fran...

I wonder why they don’t show her hands? (Photo credit: Wikipedia, public domain)

I was reminded earlier today that it was L. Frank Baum’s birthday. If he had survived whatever killed him, and everything that would have followed that, he would have been 157 today.

That is Mrs. L. Frank Baum pictured to your right.

Sorry, I just had to get those out of my system. Let’s get back on topic.

Instead of celebrating, I played disc golf with my son. Though he is not yet 21, he is cooler than L. Frank Baum could dream of being in 557 years. Could L. Frank have thrown a disc like this? —

No, not in his wildest dreams, nor could he make me use a Bevis voice.

Anyhow, I clearly did not write much today. However, L. Frank’s birthday reminds me of something I still have never done. This. No, not even once.

Fifty-one years and counting.

14 Comments on “Happy Birthday, L. Frank Baum”

  1. May I have permission to put your Bevis phrase on my cell phone? Dude did, in fact, look like a lady. No disrespect.

  2. Nice of you to wish Baum’s a Happy Birthday (thank you!) Wow disc golf looks very cool. I’ve never heard of it before, do we play it in Chicago? Not for me of-course…Your picking on Mrs. L. Frank Baum? On the other hand, I think I know where he might have found the inspiration for one of his characters. Don’t watch the movie…you have a genuine conversation starter…you can say I’ve never seen the Wizard of Oz during one of “those moments,” and a companion could say about you, “Do you know HE HAS NEVER SEEN THE WIZARD OF OZ” The conversation is off and running..and you can sit back quietly and watch. Win. Win.

  3. Laura says:

    My neck hurts just looking at Mrs. Baum’s hat.

  4. Debbie says:

    Domer and his pals play lots of disc golf — thanks for the video because I was wondering what kind of sport it is!
    Never seen the Wizard, huh? How did you manage to miss it? It’s on every year, flying monkeys and all. It’s enough to give kids nightmares!
    Is that “Mrs.” Baum’s hair underneath her hat?? How in the world does that work??

    • omawarisan says:

      I remember it being on when I was a kid a couple times when we visited my cousins. I think I was playing. We made that trip the same time every year.

  5. It seems to me that Mrs. Baum could quite possibly have played the Wicked Witch in that movie you have never seen…so you really can’t relate.
    That’s disc golf is it? Your son certainly does have a “drive” to be reckoned with.

  6. Blogdramedy says:

    I’m on my iPod and can’t get “This” to load. So I can only imagine what you’ve been missing…oh. Oh my. (Sometimes my imagination can be rude. Sorry.)

  7. Betty says:

    The country’s first drag queen, perhaps?

  8. planetross says:

    Most things remind me of other things usually, but when I forget to set the clock alarm … it doesn’t remind me of anything.


So, what's on your mind?

