Hello, Mr. Other Me

Long ago, a teacher told my class that “somewhere in the world, is someone just like you.” I’m not sure what the point was, because I’m not sure how possible that is.

Animation of the structure of a section of DNA...

A 3-d map of the Omawarisan genome.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But the idea fascinated elementary school me. I wondered about this other me without questioning if it could be true that he was out there. What would we talk about if we met? If he were older, would I be just like him, or could he still be just like me? The teacher didn’t really cover that.

The probability of a couple in Belgium creating another me can’t be good. Then I factor in the environmental aspects and what the chances are that the other me was raised by clowns. When I add that up, the odds of Mr. Other Me’s existence are pretty slim.

How Slim Are Those Odds?

“You scare me. How did you arrange for your doppelgänger to sit next to us?” I read the text message, then looked at the photo my friend had attached. There, next to some of my best friends, at a concert I couldn’t attend, was Mr. Other Me.

He is a damned fine-looking man. Perhaps you’ll think me conceited for saying so. I disagree. I’m not talking about myself, I’m referring to him. There’s nothing wrong with giving compliments.

This other me even dressed like I dress. He had on a ball cap and glasses. He wore a hoodie and, presumably,  jeans. It was a cool night and we don’t like being cold. He had short hair like mine.

Mr. Other Me had the good sense to reveal himself to a group of my best friends. Each of them are veterans of various adventures with me. At least one has photos that prevent me from running for the Senate. Because I know who he was with, I’d bet Other Me had a good time. Because he is me(-ish), I expect that he bought a round or two.

Expectations

Since this guy is out there and we are me, it is probably a good idea that we come to an understanding of how certain things are to go. Mr. Other Me, when you find my blog (and I know you will), let me just tell you what my expectations are.

  1. Buy your share of rounds –  Like I said a moment ago, you were with my friends. I expect that you bought them a drink. A full report on your conduct has not come in yet. Hopefully you did not disappoint.
  2. Put gas in the Miata – We love the Miata. It is a fun ride, isn’t it? I can’t help but notice that I’m the only one putting gas in it. That is going to have to change. Speaking of change, we’ll need to change the oil next month. That one is on you, Me.
  3. We’re retiring this fall – The nice stuff that people are saying is about me, not us.
  4. I’m not successful at making pizza dough – One of us should be. I choose you.
  5. This is my blog – You may read, but only one of us can write here. I choose me.

There will be other matters we’ll need to discuss. You’re probably going to need to go find your own friends too. I won’t rush you too much on that, since your existence is against all odds.

But I’ll need you to get moving on that friends thing. I know how you can drag your feet.’ You’re sort of me, Other Me.

20 Comments on “Hello, Mr. Other Me”

  1. Laura says:

    I don’t feel comfortable referring to your doppelganger “Mr. Other Me” because he’s not, you know, another me. If it’s all the same to you, I’m going to call him as Twomawarisan.

    • omawarisan says:

      I’m sure he doesn’t mind you calling him that because I don’t mind you calling him that.

    • planetross says:

      One meaning of “san” in Japanese is “3”, so I’ll refer to the Mr. Other Me as “omawarini” (ni=2) only if I meet him after you. If I meet him before you, I might just call him “hey you”.

      note: if my “other me” is a woman, that would be hard to take.

  2. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Listen to that great song by Nat King Cole “There will never be another you.”

  3. lbwoodgate says:

    It must be discomforting to know that there is a “copy and paste” version of you out there. It sure would be for me.

  4. Dear Mr. Other Him/Twomawarisan/Otherwarisan. . . .if you’re buying drinks and gas, I volunteer to be your friend. Also, you can write on my blog any time. I’m sure you’re quite entertaining.

  5. Oma-gosh! It just occurred to me: what if Otherwarisan knows the Lebanese waitress who is not me? It’s like that Bizarro episode of Seinfeld.

  6. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    There is only one you. That Other You is a mere copy and every one of us, even The Jolie, could tell the difference. But you can send him over here to help me with my gardening.

    • omawarisan says:

      He probably needs to get his hands dirty, find out what it is like out there.

      By out there I meant in the world, not specifically Idaho, though that is part of out there.

  7. You really have no excuse for not running for the Senate now that you have found Mr. Other You. That/those photos that prevented you from running are obviously Mr. Other You and not really You. This gives you a lot of freedom.

  8. Debbie says:

    I’m interested in where your teacher got her information. I always heard people were unique, that even identical twins really aren’t identical. I like that. The idea that, if there’s another Oma, there might be another Debbie — that doesn’t sit so well. Perhaps in Mankind’s early days finding another “you” was justification for murder — they had a lot of killing back in the day, you know. I just can’t see a world where there are carbon copies of each of us!

  9. You are so lucky. I’ve been looking for the Mrs. Other Me forever. There are so many things I want to ask her. Was she…”busy” during college? Is she certifiable diagnosed crazy? Has she ever been locked in her house because there’s a gas leak nearby (why would I leave anyway?) Would she mind picking up Noah after school? Would she mind taking on my extra weight? In return I could bake her some cookies or a pie or a cake. I could share some Kool-Aid. We have TWO can’s of whipped cream. She can spray some in her mouth if she wants as long as she doesn’t actually touch it with her mouth. Gross. Oh the things we’d talk about…

  10. benzeknees says:

    You will buy drinks for other me’s friends & fill his car too, right?

  11. What are his thoughts on coffee and pumpkins?


So, what's on your mind?

