Chatting With Mars Rat

Last night, I was sitting around, getting a lot of nothing done. They say that idle hands are the devil’s workshop. My workshops were on the couch behind my head so they have no blame in this matter. One of my hands picked up the phone when it rang. That’s what hands do.

Mars Rover

Mars Rover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Hello”, I said in that questioning way that we all answer the phone. A rather high-pitched voice came through the earpiece – “Oma, it’s me, Mars Rat”.

“Mars Rat, from the NASA photo on the internet?”

“How many Mars Rats do you know? Yes, Mars Rat from the internet”

It seemed that the rat had a bit of an attitude. I asked if there was a reason he was calling me. “I was surfing the net on the way to Mars and stumbled across your blog and read a lot of your stuff. It’s pretty obvious you’ve got too much time on your hands. I needed someone who was sure to answer the phone. You fit the bill.”

Mars Rat has me pegged. He is smarter than your average rodent.

“Look, I need you to get the word out for me. There’s some baloney being spread about me and I want to put a stop to it.”

I’m no fan of baloney, or even malarkey. Shenanigans, I enjoy, but the rat made no mention of them.

Msl20110602 PIA14175-full

Mars Rat’s sweet ride.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“What’s the baloney you need help with?” I asked. He said “I’ve gotten popular since my photo was spotted on line. Today I read that some UFO conspiracy theorist guy was floating the idea that NASA sent me up here as part of a secret experiment to see how long I’d live. That isn’t true. I’m a stowaway.”

Stowing away on a NASA rocket is no small achievement. I told the rat that I was impressed and asked how he survived the trip. He told me that he survived by chewing the insulation off the wires on the Mars Curiosity Rover. According to him, the Rover is barely functioning because of his diet. “Seriously, it’s a bucket of bolts,” he told me. Then he got us back on topic.

“Look, I don’t know how long my battery will hold out, so listen up. I’m up here because I stowed away. It was my idea. These clowns that treat this like I’m the victim of some great conspiracy don’t understand human nature.”

“What do you know about human nature?” I asked.  “People can’t keep secrets and they don’t agree on much”, he told me. “So even if someone wanted to send me up here, someone would have let the cat, or rat, out of the bag long before some conspiracy theorist. You’re a cop, right Oma? How do most criminals who work together get caught?”

That was an easy question. Most people who manage to cobble together a conspiracy get caught because one of them starts talking to someone. The Rat was right. If NASA did put him on this journey, the word would have leaked out by now.

“OK” I said, “you’re pretty much saying that it is ridiculous to think that this is some sort of plot to send you to Mars and that two people can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”

“Exactly” he said. Mars Rat started to elaborate, but it started to become hard to hear him. The line went silent. I tried desperately to get him to respond – “Omawarisan to Mars Rat, your circuit’s dead, there’s something wrong. Can you hear me Mars Rat? Can you hear me Mars Rat?”

Poor guy.

Anyhow, Mars Rat and I have little patience for conspiracy theory types. We can’t put four people in a room here in the US and get them to agree on whether the sun is up (it isn’t up). Conspiracies are nearly impossible to assemble and harder to maintain.

I wish the media wouldn’t give attention to the sort of people who spread these theories.

Here’s a video of the photo of Mars Rat, which is actually a rock. To be sure, it is a rock that looks like a rodent. The video has ominous music. Ominous music is really good for proving conspiracies.

18 Comments on “Chatting With Mars Rat”

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve seen this picture several times and was skeptical, but that ominous music convinced me.

  2. Anonymous says:

    That’s no rat! Plainly, it’s a guinea pig. Conspiracy, indeed!

  3. There are to many things I love about this blog to elaborate so I must same this : Brilliant!
    Well that and also once again I am glad I was not drinking because I would have shot it out my nose laughing!

  4. List of X says:

    This was the most entertaining video of a rock I’ve ever seen.

    • omawarisan says:

      Entertaining and revealing, don’t you think? If it were silent, you might think “hey, a rock that looks like a rat!” With the music, it becomes “why are they hiding the existence of this rat? What does he know?”

  5. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    A rat!! I thought it was a squirrel! And I got my panties all up in a bundle over it! I’m so relieved. Mars can have the rats. They’ll have to send their rat astronauts to the Moon for their cheese supply. I love science.

    • omawarisan says:

      That’s part of the conspiracy. If they’d sent a rat to the moon, it would have eaten our satellite by now. We had to go to mars to get a celestial body that was rat-safe.

  6. I like baloney. With a little mustard. But don’t tell anyone.

  7. Debbie says:

    I’m with you, shenanigans are fine. They sound like something a leprechaun might be up to at any time, and I rather like leprechauns. Rats? Not so much.

  8. Shenanigans are a lot of fun. Baloney and malarkey not so much.
    The only phone calls I get when my hands are behind my head go like this “(Sound of big ship horn) This is your Captain Speaking…”. I don’t know any Captain’s never mind one named Speaking so I hang up before they can tell me I won the cruise. I like your phone calls better.

  9. planetross says:

    The next door neighbour’s cat left a Mars Rock on my front lawn a few months ago, but I chucked it out back.
    Is it valuable?


So, what's on your mind?

