Five Routine Minutes: Was It The Old Switcheroo?

When I arrived at the bagel shop I opened the door and allowed another customer to enter ahead of me.

Once inside, the gentleman who I’d let in said “please, go ahead of me.” I turned the offer down, but he insisted.

Let’s review the story so far. I let him in. He returned the favor. Here is a diagram of these transactions:

I order one bagel.

After I order, I move to the line to pay. The other guy orders a dozen bagels and then…

…jumps in front of me to pay!

This was unprecedented. I’d never seen this situation before.

At first, I thought it might be the old switcheroo. I thought about it and determined that it was not.

Since I could not label what this man did, I was powerless to counter the move. Fixing situations is what I do. I’m not used to being powerless.

32 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: Was It The Old Switcheroo?”

  1. List of X says:

    I think the guy was assuming that you were planning to let him go in front of you again and just went ahead of you to save you the effort.

  2. How did he place a large order and manage to pay before you? I think more facts are needed. You had your order BEFORE he even ordered? Or did he pay before he had the bagels in hand? In any case I’m on your side. My policy is to alway side with the person I like best, which in this case would be you since I’ve only seen a dotted circle of the other guy. I’d call him rude or obtuse. It’s late, I’m waiting for my car warriors to roll in, if this doesn’t make sense…it’s me.

    • omawarisan says:

      I like your policy, especially because it favors me.
      To clear it up, you order and then go pay. Your order typically arrives shortly after you pay. Unless, of course, you are me and they start making your order when you arrive in the parking lot because superstition dictates that you eat the same breakfast, which is good because pretzel bagels are great

  3. Okay, this is called the mind F.
    Now you see me, and now you see me again…sucka!!!
    The next logical move given the former ones would be to just casually go in front of him and see what comes of it.
    I’d like to know what he was thinking. Since that’s impossible, could you please provide a narrative from the dozen bagel guys perspective?

    • omawarisan says:

      I like the idea of writing one from his perspective.

      I thought about stepping back in front of him while he was grabbing tubs of cream cheese, but I was in my work uniform. I’ve gone 28 years without a suspension, I dont want one in my last few months. Just endlessly swapping until someone got to the register would be funny.

      • This is the type of golden idea that made Mr Bean who he is today. It’s the amazing shuffle battle at the bagel shop.
        Police uniform? Well, then I can understand holding back on that last shuffle during his cream cheese pick-up.
        Mr Bean and a Police Officer doing this routine? Golden, just golden. 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    I’m tempted to call it a double-reverse switcheroo (that is, a double switcheroo followed by a reverse switcheroo, not two reverse switcheroos), but upon further consideration, I think the two of you were just playing leapfrog.

    The way this story was going, I’m actually surprised he didn’t wind up paying for your bagel.

    • omawarisan says:

      I see it. The double switcheroo because it was a mutual switch, followed by his single reversal.

      The paying for my bagel thing happens about once a month or so. Usually I don’t know who does it.

  5. Betty says:

    Sounds like that commercial (can’t remember what it advertises) where a customer lets another go ahead of him in line. The leap frogger ends up being the millionth customer and wins a boat load of money. Perhaps he was playing both positions in case confetti started falling, he’d simply shift to the appropriate winning position…and would probably knock you to the ground to secure it.

  6. Some people! Did he leave you with his hefty tab and slink out the back door? It sounds like a job for Scooby Doo!

  7. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    They call it the “Fast Food Flip Flop” – mostly because they wanted to use some alliteration. So, tell me: did you make it out the door before him or after? Because that’s just about your last chance to beat him at that game, unless you’re driving out the parking lot at the same time. The game stops there. Really. Don’t take it any further, Oma.

  8. Katie says:

    That’s called a cut, butt, and a coconut. Typically children are acutely aware of these, and they do not tolerate them.

  9. The Flea-Flicker and the Alley Oop had a baby, and they named it the Triple Sow-Cow.

  10. My first thought was that this was a violation of the No Backsies rule, then I thought maybe it was Indian Giving (as un-PC as that is), but now that I think about it, I agree with Laura, this was just Leapfrog.

    • omawarisan says:

      It is a no backsies violation but i wasn’t certain i could enforce that if I didn’t call it when I went around him. Can I hold him to an uncalled, but implied violation?

  11. Admitting to being powerless is a big step.

    So, how was the bagel?

    (I got nuthin’ on the diagrams because they look too much like calculus or football diagrams and I am powerless when it comes to those things.)

  12. omawarisan says:

    The bagel was good. Pretzel is good in all forms.

  13. lbwoodgate says:

    I’d call it exploitation. But that’s the cynic in me.

  14. It’s the “I-dare-you-to-call-me-on-this-because-I-was-nice-to-you-before” move. It has the effect of rendering the unsuspecting victim speechless. The evil-doer then ends the move by pronouncing “checkmate”.

  15. When I was young and my cousins and I were venturing to the park by ourselves for the first time without Aunt Sharon and she asked us what we do if a stranger tries to talk to us. I told her what my daddy said, “Kick him in the balls and run.”


So, what's on your mind?

