It is International Joke Day

Notifies people of a joke. (SVG version)

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is International Joke Day.

Joke Day is not a celebration of people like me who are themselves jokes. It is a chance to recognize great jokes and the people who tell them.

I’ve decided to do my part to contribute to your practice of this holiday by pointing you toward a post about the one joke I am cursed able to remember.

26 Comments on “It is International Joke Day”

  1. Is there supposed to be a link? Is it the snail joke? I love that joke.

  2. I don’t know any jokes about Internationals…unless you count the ‘Irishman walks into a bar’ as one…

  3. pegoleg says:

    I know that joke. I have known it for almost 50 years, because my dad told it. Except in our family, the horribly non-PC malady wasn’t a peg leg (for rather obvious reasons, hmm?), the ending was “harelip, harelip.”

    This is one of only 3 jokes I am able to keep in my head complete. I’m so ashamed.

    • omawarisan says:

      The harelip variation seems to be pretty common. My brother remembers it that way too. I was going to say I think it has to do with where you grew up, but, well there you have it.

  4. lbwoodgate says:

    The “would I” joke. Sorry. I still laugh at that one. The way I heard though is that the girl had a hair lip rather than a wooden leg.

    Here’s one my friend Jim gave me who writes the okjimm’s eggroll emporiuam blog. Like the Wood eye” joke, this may be offensive to some people too.

    Jesus walks into a bar down South and orders a glass of water, turns it into wine then sits at the end of the bar sipping his wine.

    In walks an Irishman with a clubfoot, he asks the bartender “Isn’t that the son o god ?”.
    The bartender says “yes”.

    So the Irishman tells the bartender to give Jesus another of whatever he’s drinking.

    Meanwhile, in walks a hunchback, spots Jesus at the end of the bar and asks the bartender

    “Isn’t that Jesus the son of God?”

    The bartender affirms it and the hunchback orders a drink for Jesus.

    Meanwhile, in walks a redneck cracker wearing a baseball hat sees Jesus at the end of the bar and asks the bartender ” Isn’t that God’s little boy down there ?”

    The bartender say it is and the redneck says “Wha hell give em a brew”

    When Jesus finished he went first to the clubfoot and touching him he says “For your kindness you are healed”

    He then touched the hunchback and said “For your kindness, you are healed”.

    As he approached the redneck with his hand extended, the redneck jumps out of the way yelling ” Get the hell away from me….!”!! I’m on disability!”

  5. Mr. Weebles told me that joke many years ago, and every so often one of us will say “Would I!” and the other will say “Peg leg! Peg leg!” Good times.

  6. I’ve definitely heard worse.

  7. It’s a great joke and one that just keeps on giving…..Thanks!

  8. Laura says:

    Wait — there’s an international joke day? Why wasn’t I informed?

  9. sarahnsh says:

    I’m not very good at telling jokes but I am pretty good at randomly being funny. So, I am definitely like you with being the joke and I embrace it and laugh at myself! 😉

  10. Balvah says:

    I know the joke myself. What is worse is I laughed when I first read the the punch line. Of course this reminds me of something else, passed on by my father. It sticks with me like this joke. He said you know your getting old when you tell your father’s jokes and laugh at them. I do believe he told the same joke as you..

  11. Debbie says:

    Sadly, I’m one who doesn’t remember jokes. Or punchlines. On a positive note, that makes me a perfect audience!

    • omawarisan says:

      I think you either do or don’t remember jokes. it isn’t genetic either. I don’t remember them, my brother remembers every joke he’s ever heard


So, what's on your mind?

