Labor Day Look Back

I’m hearing and reading a lot about work because, hey, it’s Labor Day.

I didn’t bother writing new stuff because, hey, it’s Labor Day.

Anyhow, I read a very good piece about a very bad first job experience that made me laugh. Not derisive laughter, like “ha, ha, better you than me, Jackie”. It was more of a good laugh at a story that wasn’t funny when it happened.

Actually, it would have been funny when it happened if it happened to someone I didn’t like. It didn’t, so it’s only funny now.

So I’m sending you back two years to the story of my first job because, hey, it’s Labor Day. I watched baseball and football all weekend instead of writing.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the epic Ziggy’s Pizza Trilogy. It’s one of my favorite tales, it is labor related and you aren’t working so you’ve got time to read a three post series.

Don’t wear white after today. Y’know, labor day and all. Also, stay away from macaroni salad that has been in the sun.

10 Comments on “Labor Day Look Back”

  1. . . . I watched baseball and football all weekend instead of writing.

    And instead of working. Yay!

  2. We Found Him Captain! says:

    My “ZIggy” was Joe Petrowski, manager of the A&P supermarket in Hoboken, NJ. he hired me as a 16 year old part timer. I learned more from him than any individual I have known in my 76 years. He could charm the most irate customer and never knew a stranger. He made you feel important and you wanted to work hard for him.

    “Joe Pete” was his nickname and he had a heart of gold. He was an inspiration and the perfect role model.

  3. I liked this. I also liked the Ziggy series, but couldn’t click on the like, but I liked it. Ypou know I liked it, right? I mean, I commented and all, so….

  4. Debbie says:

    This was golden the first time and has only grown shinier! Thanks for the repeat. Here’s hoping you enjoyed your Labor Day weekend (though what’s not to like about watching football all weekend?!)

  5. Katie says:

    I just walked 8 miles mostly on accident. I’m doing Labor Day wrong. Or right?

  6. knace says:

    That was a really nice tribute. I think Ziggy would like it. =)

  7. Good advice on the mac salad.


So, what's on your mind?

