All Because Of A Pair Of Women’s Shoes

Sometimes I see things which do nothing but raise questions. I think about those questions, but eventually conclude that I am not the one who has the answers. Reaching that conclusion involves a significant amount of time.

Shocking.

Let me give you an example of what I’m talking about.

How Did He Not See This?

A few months ago, I had the oil changed in my car. I was milling around outside while I waited. There was a waiting room, but I didn’t want to sit in there because Dr. Phil was on the television. I think Dr. Phil is a hack. I was the only one in the waiting area who held that opinion, so I went outside.

While I was hanging around, I looked up and there, on some power lines between the auto shop and a near-by bar, were a pair of women’s shoes with very high heels. This seemed odd.

I asked the oil change guy about the shoes*. He had not even seen them. So now I had two big questions:

  • What was the story of those shoes?
  • Am I the only one who looks up?

After extensive deliberation, I concluded that it was not likely that I’d learn the truth about the shoes.

It’s Me, Isn’t It?

Today, I went back for another oil change. The television was on a news station, but the people on the screen were speculating about what might have happened during the latest tragedy du jour. Do you know what isn’t news? Speculation. I was the only one in the waiting area who held that opinion, so I went outside.

News: Shoes are on a wire.
Speculation: Maybe a stripper was walking home.

While I was hanging around, I looked up. The shoes were still there. I don’t know where I expected them to go, but there they were. And here we are, back at the questions that bother me so.

I’ve heard that a pair of tennis shoes, laces tied together and tossed over a power line was some sort of signal that drugs were for sale in the area. I can’t validate that. In my career as a police officer I saw drugs sold in areas with and without the shoe marker. But now I wonder, does a pair of women’s heels slung over a wire mean something too?

The wire that the shoes are on is higher than most. I wonder about the throw that got them up there.

I’ve never seen someone throw sneakers on a power line. I imagine it takes a number of tries to get it to happen, and that’s with a foot and a half of shoe string as a margin of error.  It seems that connecting the straps of a pair of hoochie shoes leaves no room for error. Could this have been the most amazing shoe throw since the development of our electric power grid?

And what of the woman who was wearing those shoes? Why wasn’t she wearing them at the time of the fateful fling?

I have a hard time deciding what might have led to her shoes being thrown over the wire. Sometimes I think it might have been a dispute with another woman. Other times I believe it was an abusive guy she was with. Both of those ideas are distasteful.

Today, as you read this, a pair of woman’s shoes hangs from a utility wire, high above an oil change shop. I’ve considered the issue, but that hasn’t changed anything.

That doesn’t mean I’m not concerned. I am. I’m always concerned, especially about the most trivial matters…like whether I am the only person in the world who looks up for no good reason.

 

* Yes, I really did ask the oil change guy about the shoes. Welcome to my world.
37 Comments on “All Because Of A Pair Of Women’s Shoes”

  1. Dan Hennessy says:

    I don’t look up . That pair of shoes would drive me crazy over time wondering about it . Also , sounds like you should stay out of waiting rooms . Good post . Thanks .

  2. Maybe the stripper always wanted to try tossing shoes over a wire, or maybe her friends bet her she couldn’t! Some Chuck Taylors appeared on a wire across the street from us. Your shoes there are much more interesting.

  3. Laura says:

    “We choose to throw these shoes. We choose to throw these high-heeled shoes onto this power line, not because it is easy, but because it is hard.”

  4. Katie says:

    I’m going to say what everyone’s thinking: drag queen proving a point.

  5. Daile says:

    I look up to see what’s there quite often, but I have more of a tendency to look down. So not sure what that means?

  6. I think she threw them upon realizing what a terrible purchase they were….ugly shoes should be thrown over power wires.

  7. dental eggs says:

    I would break my ankles wearing those ‘shoes’.

  8. My brother-in-law took his sons on a ski trip . They stopped at a rest stop and his 11 year old walked back to the car sock footed. The obvious question was asked, “Where are your shoes?” He had thrown them on top of the adjacent tower surrounded by a high fence with warning signs. When he was asked, the obvious question, “Why in the world would you do such a thing…” He answered, “I wanted to see if I could.” Let’s just say his parents did not congratulate him on the outstanding throw.
    I can throw your heals onto that power line. No you can’t…..Yes I can….

  9. lbwoodgate says:

    Actually I find your story more compelling than most of the tripe that passes for news today. Why should I care that the Powerball Lottery is now up to $400 million (yes, I know. Some lucky stiff in South Carolina won that pot) or that the season finale of The Dome concludes this week?

    But I should care about someone who felt they needed to toss there shoes. With all the shoeless children in 3rd world nations what was she thinking? And was she thinking clearly? Is she mentally ill? If so will she be able to purchase a semi-automatic rifle and later go on a shooting spree that will then make real news fodder for days if not weeks?

    Perhaps Oma, you have found your post-retrement 2nd calling as a news analyst/reporter. 🙂

    • omawarisan says:

      And the shoeless strippers. Somewhere in Latvia, a stripper is reading this and “damn, I could make those shoes work.”

      And then she thinks “hey, apparently I’m bi-lingual”

  10. “Something’s for sale here and allow me to demonstrate the value-added strength, dexterity, flexibility, and creativity involved. *shoe toss*”

    I always look up, even more so since that one episode of CSI when Gil found the evidence in a tree.

    *DOWNER ALERT* On a more serious note, aren’t shoes over a wire also sometimes a memorial to someone who perished near that spot?

  11. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    That’s the only good use for a pair of ankle-breaking shoes like those. The second the cobbler put on the last inch of platform, those shoes were destined for a telephone wire. Humans aren’t intended to wear shoes like those. These ones stand as a reminder to all young women that the way of the big shoe can only end in tragedy.

  12. Blogdramedy says:

    They could have fallen out of a plane. Hopefully, someone wasn’t in them at the time.

  13. knace says:

    OK, I think I might have an answer for you. Here at Camp Lejeune there is a tradition when someone is about to out of the USMC, they throw their boots up on a telephone wire as a sort of parting gesture. You see it all the time here. So in your case I see a woman, who has maybe paid her way through medical school by stripping, thrown her stripping shoes up on the wire as a farewell statement. Yup. I think that’s how it happened.
    Dr. Phil IS a total hack, as is, I suspect, Dr. Oz.

  14. In my day we called those “F*#k Me” shoes. On a scale of cost vs ugliness vs ability to walk in them, the uglier and harder to walk the more expensive they were. My thoughts are when her “beau” found out how much they cost he freaked and now all that money is just hanging there. I’m thinking neither one of them got any that night.

  15. dufmanno says:

    That right there is the result of one angry and talented stripper having an epiphany.

  16. pegoleg says:

    I look up, but I’m not usually very observant. That probably stems from having my head up my a** on any given day.

    I’m trying to enlarge your picture to provide detail: are the shoes actually tied together? Or are the straps just looped? Because tying them with string or something would indicate premeditation as opposed to a spur-of-the-moment impulse.

    My theory is a drunk girl on the way home from a bar kept falling off them and her boyfriend, disgusted, tossed them up there.

  17. I look up al the time. I like to be on the lookout for falling pianos.

    Hehe…you said “hoochie shoes.”

  18. In NYC it’s not a good idea to look up, unless you like:
    A. Pigeon poo in your eye
    B. Window air conditioner “spit” on your face
    C. Dust from the neighbor shaking out her rugs up your nose.

  19. For some reason, in my mind I always picture the shoes falling from above, not being thrown there from below… Every time an angel gets their wings, they cast their now-unneeded shoes down from the heavens?


So, what's on your mind?

