What I’m Worried About

Bed bugs

Bed bugs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes people worry about bed bugs in hotel rooms. That isn’t what I’m worried about right now.

I ended up in this room when my car broke down about ninety minutes from home. A weekend evening breakdown equals a wait until the next day for a repair.

I talked the tow truck driver into dropping me off at a motel after we left the car at the repair shop. Next, I found a nice way to express to the tow truck driver that our ideas of a nice motel differed. Once I got that done I was able to talk him in to giving me a lift to a hotel that didn’t have so many hookers out front.

As a matter of fact, I found a nice place to stay. It is quiet and clean. Sometimes people worry about bed bugs in hotel rooms. That isn’t what I’m worried about right now.

There were phone calls to make after I checked in. I watched a little TV, then realized how late it was and that I had not eaten. This was a problem. There wasn’t a restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. I went to the front desk and asked for the number of a good pizza delivery place.

English: Domino's delivery driver

The best? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not worried about bed bugs. The smell coming off this Domino’s Pizza worries me.

This pizza smells like feet. Unwashed, dirty feet in old canvas sneakers. The smell has filled the room. I’m pretty sure that the maid will open the door the room in the morning and think that I was the worst smelling guest in the building. I’m pretty sure that I’m not.

I shouldn’t be concerned about what the housekeeper thinks because I plan to be long gone before she gets into the room. But I am concerned. I don’t want her to think that I was the smelliest, even though she won’t know who I am.

I’m also worried that the smell might waft out of the room into the hall. If that happens, another guest could report the smell. The hotel staff might enter my room to make sure no one has died. That would startle me because I sure that I am not dead. It’d be scary for the hotel people too, because as strong as this pizza smells, they’d have every reason to believe that I am wrong about being not dead.

Somewhere in this hotel, someone is worried about bedbugs. That isn’t what I’m worried about right now. I’m sure that the whiff coming off this pizza has killed any bedbugs.

I’m worried that I am in a town where Domino’s is considered a good pizza delivery place.

30 Comments on “What I’m Worried About”

  1. Almost every time we’ve had pizza delivered to a motel it has smelled like that. I think it’s a conspiracy.

  2. pieterk515 says:

    Ah man…This has to be crowned as the most disgusting and funniest story I have read in a long time. I assume you didn’t eat it? That would worry me…

  3. Laura says:

    That’s why I always specify the toppings I want individually instead of ordering the Foot-Lover’s Pizza.

  4. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Guess what!! Mom-mom made some great pizza last night. It was so gooood! Plus we had a great salad, some of those delicious, sweet red grapes, coffee and before we went to bed we each had a Magnum bar.
    if you need me to pick you up, don’t hesitate to call. Also, come over & have some clean feet style, sneaker free pizza. mom made extra just for you. UTZA!

  5. Dan Straight says:

    I had a similar experience when I got chicken delivered from the local eatery. Lets just say that we starved until the morning.

  6. Betty says:

    Dominos pizza =desperately hungry

  7. Sending pizza now! Looking for your GPS coordinates as we speak!

  8. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    When Domino’s delivers to a hotel or motel, they bring out the B-List pizza. That wasn’t cheese. I think I’d rather have eaten a bed bug.

  9. knace says:

    So did you EAT it? Are you dead? Is that why you haven’t responded to any comments yet? Do we need to call 911?

  10. Yep, that’s a Domino’s pizza.

  11. Chris forwarded your GPS coordinates and I have good news: Tuna Guy and Perfume Lady were In the same motel last night. (I know, right? What are the odds?)

    Your smelly foot room was probably a breath of fresh air for the maid.

    Now it’s time to worry about why Tuna Guy and Perfume Lady are following you around.

  12. Debbie says:

    Rather than stay in a nasty motel with bedbugs and nasty-smelling pizza delivery, I probably would’ve phoned a friend and begged for a ride home. Then worried about the car later. Because how did you even get to sleep without brushing your teeth???

    • omawarisan says:

      I just couldn’t do it to anyone. It would have been a 150 mile round trip, plus the return to pick the car up so I had to have a little me time.

      I had a bag with me so I was prepared.

  13. I made a similar mistake several years ago when I ordered Chinese food delivery at a motel I was at. I’m not sure what I was thinking. Suffice it to say that “Beef and Broccoli” is open to interpretation at some restaurants.


So, what's on your mind?

