A Solution Looking For A Problem

Preparing for what life throws at us is one of the most important things we can do for ourselves.

I find myself in a lot of situations, unsure of how I got there, or how I’ll get through it. I prefer to prepare by thinking through situations ahead of time when I can. Visualizing what success will look like and considering what I’ll have to do to get there helps me develop action plans.

Sometimes it doesn’t work that way. Just the other day, I ran across a solution for a problem I don’t have.

I Wasn’t Looking

Boring game, but the best seats I've ever had.

Kicking off this idea. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On Saturday, I watched a college football game. The teams playing weren’t ones I’m connected with; I watch a lot of games just to appreciate the art of the game itself. As the announcers discussed one of the plays, the name of a defensive lineman for Ohio State hit me right in the ear – Noah Spence.

Mr. Spence played well; I’m sure he’s a great student and will go far in whatever he chooses to do. But he has one of those names that makes me think “someone didn’t say that name aloud before they gave it to that kid.”

Noah Spence. Noah Spence.

Noah Spence is a great name because it is a great play on words.

And then it hit me. Being Noah Spence could be useful, and not just to the student-athlete on the Ohio State defensive line. In a very specific situation, one that I don’t foresee myself in, I might change my name to Noah Spence.

But Somehow You Found Me

English: "Gruesome Gertie," Louisian...

The headlines say that Oma is going to the chair. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Imagine that you’ve turned on the television news. I am the lead story because, due to some miscarriage of justice, I am a condemned man. This is a shock to us both. It is obvious to so many folks that I’ve been framed. A protest movement starts with the goal of getting me off death row and out of prison.

From my cell, I’d look for a way to help those rising up to help me. And then, while hanging out with the other inmates, watching football, the name I’d filed in the back of my mind would come roaring back. That name is the best name for a condemned man – Noah Spence.

I’d change my name and then call the leaders of the movement to protect poor, doomed me. My new name would set the movement up with a memorable slogan. After all, what’s a movement without a slogan?

And when the story ended we’d all know that the movement to “Spare Noah Spence” was the driving force behind my freedom.

Preparation equals success.

23 Comments on “A Solution Looking For A Problem”

  1. lbwoodgate says:

    I knew where this was leading but it was entertaining to watch it unfold.

  2. Debbie says:

    You really watch football games in which you don’t have a stake in the outcome?? Amazing! And I’m sorry, but I just can’t see you in that chair. I refuse to!

    • omawarisan says:

      Football, baseball, college basketball and hockey, if they are on, I’ll watch. I enjoy the patterns and strategies of the games.

      That chair isn’t me. Making trouble and me don’t go together.

  3. Katie says:

    I started writing a comment about sixpence, and then I thought to myself, “OH MY GOSH. NOAH SPENCE SOUNDS LIKE NO EXPENSE. SPARE NO EXPENSE!” and it was that moment, I got the joke.

  4. kimpugliano says:

    That’s funny because my cousins live in the same town as us so there are a lot of us running into each other all the time, and they are the Spence family. See the connection?

  5. Perhaps the fans could use the slogan whenever the officials give him a penalty. I’d rather see that than him going to jail so he could use it.

  6. Lizi says:

    Wow…solving other people’s imaginary problems is seriously entertaining. It also could have worked well had Noah been born with a life-threatening condition that required a lot of money to be raised for medical expenses. Don’t you think?

  7. Dan Hennessy says:

    You might have too much time on your hands . But Spare Noah Spence is great , nevertheless.

  8. 1jaded1 says:

    Excellent. I strongly dislike anything OSU. In this case I can make an exception. And yes to following sports, whether they impact your standings or not!

    • omawarisan says:

      I find that’s something inexplicable. Either you understand why you’d watch a game when you don’t have a dog in the fight, or you don’t.

      • 1jaded1 says:

        True. During hockey playoffs was a prime example. When my dad and I watched, he was out when the wings were. I continued through the pain. I would say, “but, I thought you liked hockey!”

  9. Pie says:

    Ha ha ha! Nice one, Oma. Well done. You certainly spared Noah Spence on this post.

  10. Nice. I knew a boy in elementary school named Christopher Columbus. Poor kid.

  11. Blogdramedy says:

    You must have come up with this post after spending the night trying to sleep on rusty bed springs while sharing a cell with I.P. Nightly.


So, what's on your mind?

