Writers Block Versus Sign Language

I try to keep a three-post-a-week pace on Blurt. It seems like my Monday/Wednesday/Friday schedule is easy enough for me to keep. Sort of.

There are times that I’ve got topics backlogged. I’ve had as many as four posts written and waiting to go out. That’s not happening right now.

The topics are there, but I’m expressing them about as well as a South African sign language interpreter. I’m just not going to put something on the blog if I don’t like it. Ooh, there was a simile in that first sentence of the paragraph. I’m not dead yet.

Thamsanqua is my hero. He deserves his own oval. (image wptv.com)

But while I’m here, how about that interpreter? He’s not much of a writer, but I admire him. What guts! Thamsanqa Jantjie went on stage, knowing he had no idea what he was doing and that those he was there to assist would the first to know he was a fraud.

Before his performance, Jantjie convinced someone that he was the man for the job. The person who was in charge of obtaining an interpreter presumably had access to every sign language interpreter in South Africa. Against the highest level of competition, Thamsanqua Jantjie gave the performance of his life and got the gig.

Thamsanqua Jantjie is my hero. If I knew the hand sign for that, I would make it. He will be my inspiration as I write my way out of this block.

16 Comments on “Writers Block Versus Sign Language”

  1. Tell us a story about “you”—growing up, on the job, your family. I like those posts best. What is your amazing kid up too? Thamsanqa Jantjie was pretty impressive! Wow.

  2. What is that old saying…”baffle them with bull#@*&”? It seems to work.

  3. Debbie says:

    Amazing that guy got the job; amazing that he had proximity to so many famous (and vulnerable) people, too. He might be a fake at signing, but at least he’s not crazy. Or violent. As for the writer’s block, this, too, shall pass. Hold onto that promise!

    • omawarisan says:

      It’ll pass…frustrating though.

      I’ve got friends who can pull off things that normal people say “no way that’ll work” about. There’s no reason Jantjie should have believed that would work…so it did.

  4. Todd says:

    In all fairness, the interpreter says he suffered a schizophrenic episode while standing near all those important world leaders and also Raul Castro. While the speakers spoke, the interpreter says he was seeing angels and hearing voices, which is why he just signed nonsense instead of asking for help or something. I’m sure you feel bad, making fun of him, because, if anyone’s the victim here, it’s him, and also the company that hired him in the first place. OK, two. Two victims.

  5. OzFenric says:

    “Thamsanqua Jantjie is my hero. If I knew the hand sign for that, I would make it.” But isn’t that the point? You don’t have to know the sign for it. Here, I’ll give you a possible translation for free: wooh-wooh, heart-tap, fist-bump, wooh-wooh.
    Actually, I think he was signing perfect rap. http://www.flocabulary.com/handgestures/

  6. knace says:

    I feel like I am in need of another Mentos lesson! Or, if you could have any six people in the entire history of people over for dinner, who would you invite and what would you serve? – Wait, were you even asking for ideas? =)

  7. Writers block or a certain distraction?

  8. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Am right here with you behind that block, dear Oma. Even my comments on my favorite blogs have been weak and pathetic. I’m seriously thinking about just posting selfies.

  9. Blogdramedy says:

    I don’t know. I’m kinda missing your posts about bagels.


So, what's on your mind?

