Some Thoughts On Robot Assisted Surgery

There’s a lot of talk out there about Robot Assisted Surgery. There are even ads touting the practice.

I’m not sure about the idea yet. The fact that I’ve seen television commercials and billboards about it does not help. There are plenty of things I’ve seen in those sorts of advertisements that were not such great ideas.

Preparing ahead is important, so I’m starting to think through the robots I’d consider having help out with any surgery I might have coming up.

Gort

Dial it back a bit, Gort, we could make it work. (image via kebmolor.wordpress.com)

Gort, the robot in the 1951 film, The Day The Earth Stood Still, might be good to have around. He is sturdy, physically stable and capable of lifting me from the gurney to the operating table while I’m sedated.

Gort has a laser beam sort of ray that comes from the region where you’d expect his eyes to be. If the power on that ray could be dialed back a bit, it could be used as a laser scalpel. A laser scalpel might reduce bleeding during surgery. I don’t know why I think that, but I’ve convinced myself it is true.

There is a little problem with Gort’s reaction to negative situations. When his alien partner, Klaatu, dies in the film, Gort goes on a destructive rampage. Surgery is a high stress situation. I don’t need a robot involved in my surgery that is prone to blowing things up when the going gets tough.

Mr. Roboto

I love saying Domo Arrigato Mr. Roboto, but I’m ruling him out. (image via chicagofreedomforum.blogspot.com)

Mr. Roboto, is the subject of the song by Styx called “Mr. Roboto”. Obviously the band put a lot of thought into their titles.

The best reason to have Mr. Roboto assisting with surgery would be being able to say “domo arrigato, Mr. Roboto” when I came out of sedation. Although getting the chance to say that is always a treat for me, I’d have to rule Mr. Roboto out of being s surgical robot.

I know he can’t help it. Perhaps it is small-minded of me, but I can’t help that. It bothers me that Mr. Roboto looks like he is always leering. My last thought before, and my first thought after surgery shouldn’t be “I don’t like the way Mr. Roboto is looking at me”. And really, if I don’t like it, there isn’t a way to file a complaint, is there?

Sadly, I’m just going to have to miss an opportunity to say domo arrigato.

Rosie, From The Jetsons

I’m just going to say up front that I want Rosie involved in my surgery. Unlike the first two I’ve considered, Rosie doesn’t have glaring weaknesses.

Yeah, Rosie is in. (image via headrobot.com)

Rosie is always prepared. Through the doors in her abdomen, she can produce whatever she needs. Whatever tool my surgeon would need, Rosie would have it. If someone in the operating room needs a snack, Rosie could cook it. I’m certain she could get involved in the actual surgery as needed.

Actually, Rosie would be great after the surgery too. In the Jetsons, she did dispense pills. Pills can be your friend after surgery.

The thing that puts Rosie over the top is her range of emotion. She is capable of caring for humans on a level most other robots can’t. Rosie proved that she’s not prone to destructive meltdowns, unlike some robots I know. She’s capable of taking charge of situations and making decisions.

The robot surgery trend is new, promising and still developing. It is important for all of us to consider our positions on the matter now. I hope none of you find yourselves facing surgery and having to decide on the spot about which robot will get involved.

10 Comments on “Some Thoughts On Robot Assisted Surgery”

  1. List of X says:

    I think the Terminator might also be good. As killing a machine, he has very good knowledge of human anatomy, and he occasionally does surgery on himself or other people already.

    • omawarisan says:

      He could be. I talked to someone who once said anesthesia was like the doctor almost killing you for a bit so he could do surgery. If we could get him to partially kill people…

  2. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I’d take Rosie, too. At least she’s wearing pseudo scrubs in the form a maid’s outfit. Frankly, I imagine there are at least a few surgeons we could replace with a Roomba and we’d be just fine.

  3. Betty says:

    If you were still a robot….?

  4. Anonymous says:

    I had robot assisted brain surgery and ………ducks, pigs, chickens call

  5. Chowderhead says:

    Go go gadget scalpel!

    And fork!

  6. pmg503 says:

    Dude you missed out 5 from short circuit… They’re showing it on BBC2 now @ 8am… such a watse.

  7. pegoleg says:

    Thank you for bringing this important new technology to light. I’m with you on Rosie as the top choice. The ability to produce life-saving tools (or a ham sandwich) from one’s abdomen cannot be overrated as a valuable asset during surgery.

  8. Rosie would be my choice of the three that you presented as well. There is something comforting about Rosie that makes you trust she will do everything she can for you.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Very well done case study, however these are not the droids you are looking for. Data from Star Trek The Next Generation will be performing all of my surgeries, driving, and household chores as soon as I have enough quarters in my robot-style piggy bank.


So, what's on your mind?

