Mr. Roboto, The Tribute Album

I’ve written of my ambition to become a musician and record my own music. Perhaps you’ve noticed that you haven’t been able to buy my albums yet. That is because the music industry is not ready to support an artist who can’t play an instrument or sing –  unless they are a rapper.

I’m not a rapper.

This is the other side of the CD. I’m still working on the front. (image by Sakurambo CCbySA2.5)

My ambition to break into the music business still burns. It burns like your ears would burn if you ever heard me sing. Relentlessly pursuing my dream has taken me in a different direction. I’m becoming a record producer. I’ve thought this idea through to the point that I’ve already developed the concept for the first album I’m going to produce.

Domo Arrigato

I think we can all agree that Mr. Roboto (recorded by Styx in 1983) is one of the oddest, greatest songs ever recorded. Anyone who can’t agree on that point is misguided, because it is. My first album as a producer will be a tribute to the majestic weirdness of Mr. Roboto.

The album, entitled Domo Arrigato, Mr. Roboto. No, Seriously Man, Domo will feature artists performing Mr. Roboto in their own styles. I’ll gather artists from all genres of music – rock, reggae, folk, r&b, country. I’ll even have classical and rap versions of the song on the album.

Yes, Domo Arrigato, Mr. Roboto. No, Seriously Man, Domo will be unique in that it will feature one song a dozen times, in a dozen different styles. The precedent for several versions of the same song appearing on the same album has already been set. There is a trubute album to John Lennon that was released a few years back which, depending on the version you buy, has up to seven different versions of his classic, Imagine.

Imagine It

“All we are saaaayinnnnng…is give Mr. Roboto a channnnnce!” (image via Roy Kerwood CCbySA2.5)

Am I comparing John Lennon and Styx? Is Mr. Roboto the equal of Imagine? No. I’m just pointing out that the concept of several versions of the same song is out there. My album will just expand it to ridiculous new levels.

Consider the fun of listening to Christina Aguilera’s version of Mr. Roboto, followed by Toots and the Maytals, Lady Antebellum and then Andrea Bocelli. I’d get Jackson Browne in on the project because he’s always been a favorite of mine. I’ll just tell him that the money from the album will go to some cause. It won’t matter what the cause is, he’s Jackson Browne and he’s all about the cause.

I’m thinking I’ll get a CeeLo Greene version of Mr. Roboto, because I like people with two upper case letters in their first name. The highlight of the record, for me, will be Bruce Springsteen roaring out the Japanese chorus of the song –

dōmo arigatō misutā Robotto

mata au hi made

dōmo arigatō misutā Robotto

himitsu wo shiritai

This record is an absolute, can’t miss hit. The song’s hook, “Domo Arrigato, Mr. Roboto”, is so perfectly silly that it will translate well across all the featured musical styles featured on the album. My prediction is that we’ll see versions of Mr. Roboto on top of the R&B, Country and Rock charts at the same time.

There is still time for you to become involved in this project. Submit the names of artists that you’d like to hear sing Mr. Roboto; explanations of why they should be on my record would be appreciated. Of course, you’re welcome to become a financial backer of the project. Your investments will be welcomed with a hearty “Domo Arrigato Mr (or Ms) Roboto”.

15 Comments on “Mr. Roboto, The Tribute Album”

  1. Garth Brooks is my vote.

  2. shoutabyss says:

    I’ll meet you at the Rock and Roll Museum where I can hook you up with my friend, Jonathan Chance. I’ll bring the KFC. The rebellion must outlive us!!!

    So, just to be clear, you are proposing a concept album of nothing but Mr. Roboto covers? Count me in!!!

  3. An says:

    Reblogged this on AllFun&Done.

  4. lbwoodgate says:

    If Ferlin Husky were still alive I’d love to hear him do the country version of this, with his classic prologue phrase “L’il Darlin”

  5. Dan Hennessy says:

    Good luck , man ! From a purely money-grubbing perspective , I’d pick another industry these days ; but good luck anyway . And , better get your pitching arm loose —- just in case you have to throw in that opening ball . I’d invest in the project , but , well , I still have a handful of brain cells kicking in from time to time . But , Good luck ! Nothing ventured….. and all that .

  6. Blogdramedy says:

    Earth Wind and Fire.
    Because we all need a funk version of that song.

  7. Ive been kind of busy, so I put off reading this until today. Ummm…there’s nothing there. It says there are lots more words, but I’ve got nothing on my screen but a couple of ads. Oddly enough, Mr. Roboto is still in my head, just from the title of the post.

  8. List of X says:

    Demi Lovato. I don’t think she’s a particularly good singer, but “Mr. Roboto by Demi Lovato” has a nice ring to it.

  9. spencercourt says:

    if you like Mr. Roboto, you may also be a Kraftwerk fan. They did an entire album similar to Robot, called Man-Machine.

  10. My choice would be Leonard Cohen. It is a no brainer that having heard his “Hallelujah” butchered/sung by so many that he should participate in this project ironically.

  11. pienbiscuits says:

    Tower of Power. It has to be done.


So, what's on your mind?

