Growing Pains

Maybe soon I will be (image via Icanhazcheezeburger.com)

Some time ago…well, I’m 52 so…a very long time ago, I used to gripe to my mother about being in pain. I didn’t have a good reason for it, but my arm or my leg hurt. Mom just dismissed my complaints as growing pains.

Growing pains were a very appealing explanation to eight year old me. I wanted to grow, but it was hard to know when I actually was growing. I wanted results. We tried the marks on the door frame thing to track my increasing height. Unfortunately, when we moved to a new town those marks didn’t move with us. That made those growing pains the only readily available (if inaccurate) sign I had that I was growing.

As I got older, I still had parts that hurt. I could connect those pains with injuries – I’d fallen off a bike, twisted something when I was horse-playing with friends. When I worked in policing I could remember why things were sore. My shoulder was sore from helping carry a 450 lb man down some stairs. My hip was tender after being hit by a thrown television. A lot of things were sore when I was hit by a car.

But now I’m not active in the same way as I was as a kid or a young man. I exercise daily, but I haven’t played football for decades. My life is busy, but I rarely get jostled the way I did in my police career. I can’t remember the last time someone flung a television at me. Actually, you never really forget a flying TV; it was very long time ago.

And yet, things still hurt. For no reason at all, things hurt. I wake up in the morning and I’m sore. Sometimes getting out of bed feels like I’m getting up after falling down a flight of stairs. There’s a lot of this and that which hurts for no good reason. But not being able to say why something hurts doesn’t make it any less uncomfortable.

“Why?” is an important question that requires an answer. I’ve put some thought to why I’m sore and have reached an exciting conclusion. Freed from the burden of having to repair the scars of my youth and risky career, my body has been able start doing something it hasn’t done in years. I’m growing again. Maybe I’ll even make it to being six feet tall!

Welcome back, growing pains.

12 Comments on “Growing Pains”

  1. shoutabyss says:

    I bet those super-thin LCD TVs hurt a lot less. Too bad they didn’t invent them earlier.

    And in my house, we call pains by their proper name. “Complaints.” Ex: “Honey, I can’t put the dishes away right now because of my liver complaint.”

  2. Amy Reese says:

    I just love your optimism. Me, I take horse pill size ibuprofen. Sometimes, it helps. That and back stretches. Ouch, having a TV thrown at your would be memorable!

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh it got worse after the TV landed. The guy who threw it came down the stairs and gave two of us more than we could handle.

      So you’re growing now too? Congrats!

  3. Linda Sand says:

    My daughter recently introduced me to a blog at KatySays.com which is causing me less pain. It’s amazing how getting your body into alignment makes your muscles happier. I never knew there is a difference between posture and alignment before.

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh yeah, I’ve heard alignment makes a big difference. I went to school with a woman who tended to stand favoring one side. It really screwed her back up badly.

  4. Becca Joyce says:

    You need a new mattress and an osteopath. Just saying. Also, my 6 year old gets sore legs which are apparently ‘growing pains’. She wakes me up in the middle of the night for a massage. That’s a pain as well. Enjoyed your post as usual 🙂

  5. Dan Hennessy says:

    I’m 6′ and , you know , it has its ups and its downs . That’s the first thing . Second , maybe you’re just going into your second childhood . Third , as my 92 year-old friend says ,” Growing old ain’t free .” But , ” growing pains” is as good an explanation as any , so I say : use it .

  6. What’s worse waking up with all those aches and pains or thinking that I could get bigger? It’s a tough call. I don’t like either option.


So, what's on your mind?

