Where Is The On Ramp To The Yellow Brick Road?

I just heard that The Wizard Of Oz premiered 75 years ago today. That’s one more year in the books for my streak…

Blurt

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

We call songs that are a part of any serious music collection standards. Films that everyone should see are classics.

These classics and standards not only entertain us, they provide common language reference points for us. We refer to lyrics, movie lines, or even entire scenes in casual conversation. They become part of the repertoire of dialogue that we use without thought and interpret without effort.

But what happens if a person hasn’t really seen or heard one of these icons? How are they affected?

I can tell you from personal experience.

I’ve never seen The Wizard Of Oz.

View original post 523 more words

6 Comments on “Where Is The On Ramp To The Yellow Brick Road?”

  1. List of X says:

    If it makes you feel better, I have not seen the movie either, although I kind of read the book. Kind of, because the book I read was a foreign remake, not the actual Wizard of Oz.

  2. People view me as a pariah because I’ve never seen a Star Wars, Star Trek or Starship Trooper movies. I’ve also managed to avoid all 17 Rocky movies as well as almost every baseball movie ever made. To be honest, I like it that way.

  3. Laura says:

    I don’t think you get credit for the years before you were born.


So, what's on your mind?

