What I Learned From New Year’s Eve

For a long time, I didn’t do New Year’s Eve. I was either working or had to be at the office by 5 a.m. on New Year’s Day.

I was on call too. Remember Y2K? So do I. I was expected in the office early on January 1, but was on call overnight for four additional assignments that I had in case the dreaded Y2K bug hit and the world came to a stop. My employer called four times, once for each extra job, to wake me and tell me I was no longer on call but was still expected at 5 a.m..

Times Have Changed

Y’know this looks like no fun. Where do they all pee? (image by Rob Boudon, CCbySA2.0)

I don’t have a long, positive history with New Year’s Eve. But now things are different. I don’t have an office to show up at on January 1; I can stay up late and I’m not on call for anything at all.

This year, my wife and I waited to see the ball drop in Times Square with good friends in their living room. It was a great time and a learning experience.

I learned that watching the ball drop is now about much more than looking at millions of people standing shoulder to shoulder in Times Square. As the show started, a number of musical acts were announced. I recognized very few of them. In fact, it sounded very much like “blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah and Elton John” to me.

That’s not fair. It was more like “blah, blah, blah, Taylor Swift, blah, blah, blah and Elton John”.

I am aware of Taylor Swift, she is on every magazine cover at the grocery store, but I don’t listen to her music. Anyhow, the show went on and on with performances by a series of people destined to be one-hit-wonders who were singing songs that I’ll never hear again, if there is a merciful God in heaven.

Give Her A Pudding Cup While You’re At It

A pudding cup, or maybe a lovely flan. (image by norwichnuts ccby2.0)

Performers kept coming on stage, performing their one song and, mercifully, leaving. Taylor Swift did two songs. Watching her sing, I couldn’t help thinking that someone as popular as she is should surely be able to afford a sandwich.

The wait went on and on. Surely they wouldn’t just be teasing my generation with the hope that Elton John would perform. But yet, the night went on with no sign of Sir Elton. Midnight came and went, the hosts prattled on. No Elton.

Finally, around 12:15 a.m., Elton John appeared, from a stage in Brooklyn. He performed one song and was gone. I still like his music and he’s had more than a sandwich or two over the years.

The Lessons Learned

So I said that I had a learning experience. The obvious question is “what did you learn, Oma?” Well, I’ll tell you.

I learned that New Year’s Eve hanging around in the living room with good friends is just right. It wouldn’t have been cool to me in my twenties; it was perfect for me in my fifties.

I learned that there is a reason that I when I’m in the car, I only listen to my iPod or satellite radio. I can’t take what passes for music on commercial radio (or the show formerly known as Dick Clark’s Rockin’ New Year’s Eve).

I learned that as savvy as television producers are said to be, they aren’t that smart. Sure, maybe they kept me and a few others hooked until long past our bedtimes. But most of Elton John’s core audience was long asleep before he finally showed up on television last night.

Basically, I learned that I’m getting old.

That’s cool.

 

15 Comments on “What I Learned From New Year’s Eve”

  1. Debbie says:

    It’s been a long while since I stayed up late to watch that ball drop, Oma. Like you, I usually had to work on New Year’s Day (thanks to being a journalist!). Now, even though I work for myself and can dictate when I get to my office, I have a Sheltie whose bladder mysteriously starts to work around 6 a.m. Thanks for educating me!!

  2. I’m in my thirties, and living room nye parties have been my thing for about 15 years now.

  3. Off My Chest says:

    Spent my New Year’s Eve with my BFF and her husband and my son and her son and friends…. laughing listening to music outside with two fires… and then more friends and music and then home to the pups. As a survivor, I try to spend my time in ways that I wouldn’t be sorry I wasn’t doing something else…. No regrets!

  4. theblogwoman says:

    Oh my yes, the couch is my friend on amateur night. We even missed the Times Square ball drop last night – instead watching Netflix. And hay! I always wondered where the Times Square ppl pee’d also:)
    Happy New Year!

  5. Blogdramedy says:

    I spent NYE with the Mister and some lobsters.
    Once we got them “out of their shells” we had a blast. *grin*

    Happy New Year, Oma. May it be all that it can be.

  6. I was in bed by 9:00 pm. New Year’s Eve is no different from any other evening. However, my 89 year old Mom stayed up till midnight, so, perhaps it’s not an age thing. Perhaps it’s a strong, overwhelming desire to avoid the awful music, especially Taylor Swift’s and Elton John’s. Here’s to a 2015 with less of those performers and good health and peace. Happy New Year, Oma!

    • omawarisan says:

      I was a little nervous. If i stayed up all that time and he played some Disneyfied Elton song I would have been pissed. He went to his old, good music.

      Happy New Year to you!

  7. Betty says:

    My friend texted me at 3:30pm to say that she was in Times Square with position staked about. I asked, “what if you have to go to the bathroom? How will you get back to your friend?” She informed me that she stopped drinking liquids at 8pm on the 30th and was wearing a Poise pad just in case. EWWW!

  8. larva225 says:

    I just posted a blog wondering if I was a dick for not letting my kids stay up to watch fireworks this year. The reality is, I haven’t stayed up until midnight in years. Maybe one day, but not now. Happy new year!

  9. Gee, I’m glad I didn’t watch that. We have a big televised Canadian production right down in front of Niagara Falls. At one time I would actually go down there for it but like you there is that age thing. Now I like to watch it from the comfort of my own living room. Usually, I flip back and forth between Niagara and Time Square depending on the musical choices. This year I was enjoying the entertainment in Niagara so much that I didn’t even think to flip the station even once.
    Happy New Year Oma.


So, what's on your mind?

