Karma’s Website

Another writer’s description of being touched by karma (no, really, it touched her) got me to thinking about that doctrine of Buddhism.

Karma is a law of moral causation. According to it, what we do affects our current and future existence. People pretty much get what’s coming to them based on their behavior.

I reflected upon what I’d read and about the meaning of karma. I considered my life and the positive and negative consequences that have developed from the choices I made. Visions of ways I’ve seen karma affect others ran through my mind.

Yeah, I’m deep that way.

So, I was Eating An English Muffin And Thinking…

English muffins. Mmmmmm. (image by Tanznia CCbySA3.0)

I kept thinking. Thinking of how the story I’d read was a reminder to the author that karma would put things right if she’d relax and let it happen. Thinking of the times when I’ve seen people do evil or do good and nearly instantly find their lives appropriately affected. Thinking of the times when I’ve seen people do evil or do good and silently hoped that, eventually, they’d get what was coming to them.

There’s something satisfying about karma. It’s not very Buddhist of us to think this way, but we like seeing folks reap what they sow. That is part of our nature. We want karma to work instantly. It often doesn’t. That’s frustrating.

It’s been thirty-seven years since I got my driver’s license. Over those years, there have probably been thousands of times I’ve seen someone driving recklessly and thought “I’d love to see him getting a ticket”. Once, I got my wish. I’m sure the rest of those people eventually got what was coming to them, but I was only blessed with witnessing it once.

“Eventually” is karma’s problem, or perhaps the problem that most of us have with karma. We want karma to dispense reward and consequence now so we can know it is still working for all of us. Karma doesn’t seem interested in working that way.

I’m not a guy who brings up a problem without proposing a solution. I’ve figured out how karma can work at its own pace and reassure us that it is still there, working hard for what’s right.

Welcome to 21st Century Karma

Karma should join us all here in the new millennium. Do we still call the 21st century “the new millennium” or is that not a thing anymore? Whatever the answer, my point is that if the life force that is karma got together with today’s technology we’d all be more patient and let it work in its mysterious but inevitable way.

Wouldn’t it be nice if karma had a website? It could have some informative pages on how it works, where it comes from and what it likes to do when it isn’t affecting the wicked and the kind. Perhaps there’d be a page where karma’s publicist could publish reminders of famous incidents where we all saw people get what was coming to them. But there would be one special page that would do us all the most good.

Karma would look after them. (image public domain)

If I were karma, which I am not, I would call this special page “I saw that, and I know you did too”. Visitors could click on the “I saw that” button on the website and it would open a form that they could fill out concerning matters they’d seen that required karma’s attention. For example:

Location and date of incident: A cornfield near a rural road in Kansas, January 9, 2015

What happened?: A couple in a Buick abandoned a litter of puppies and drove away.

Who did this?: I don’t know their names, I just saw them. He had on a blue plaid shirt. By the time I got turned around I couldn’t find the puppies.

We all know that karma already knows that someone who’d abandon puppies needs special attention. What you’d really be saying by filling out that form on karma’s website is that you’d like to get a notification when those folks got what’s coming to them. Your information would be stored and when karma did its thing, you’d get an email or a text message:

Location and date of incident: A cornfield near a rural road in Kansas, January 9, 2015

What happened?: A couple in a Buick abandoned a litter of puppies and drove away.

Karma says: I made their TV die last night while they were watching Wheel Of Fortune, their favorite show (losers!). Sorry it took so long to get to this, I’ve been busy. It kind of worked out nicely that it did take me a little longer – the warranty on the TV ran out two days ago. Hey, it was like, karma! Thanks for caring. PS – The puppies are fine.

Wouldn’t that be great? Karma could work as only karma can and we’d all be reminded that our patience allows it to get its job done.

There’s An App For That

Naturally, there would be smartphone apps in all formats to support the website.

The “I Saw That” app would integrate with the GPS function in your phone for more specific location reporting. It’d allow you to upload pictures too. Karma wouldn’t need the photos or the place because it already knows all it needs, but it’d appreciate that you want to help so that function would be built in.

Believing in Karma is easy. Human nature makes it hard to be patient. But patience is all the help that this great life force needs from us. A little technical wizardry and a .com would help us all grow by assuring us that Karma’s out there doing its good work.

19 Comments on “Karma’s Website”

  1. larva225 says:

    Creepy. I just speculated that I must’ve done something awful in a past life to justify my children waking me up at horrendous hours for years on end. An app would be useful. I dig it.

  2. Karma can be a bitch. I’ve always thought I must have been some kind of incestuous axe murderer in a former life and karma has it in for me. On the other hand, there are times I would be all over writing in notifications to Karma’s website.

  3. Reblogged this on Marilyn Munrow and commented:
    hahahahaha i want this website too.

  4. Debbie says:

    You had me with the puppies — glad they’re okay!

  5. lbwoodgate says:

    “I made their TV die last night while they were watching Wheel Of Fortune, their favorite show (losers!).”

    Anyone who can waste 30 minutes (including the dumb ads) watching the Pat Sajak/Vanna White creep show deserves bad karma.

    p.s. Karma, I meant that in the most respectful way. 🙂

  6. Why shouldn’t karma be on the interwebz? It’s time to get into the 21st century. In this instant gratification world, no one wants to wait months, or possibly years, for karma to work its magic. Especially not when puppies are involved.

    Thanks for the shout-out. 🙂

    • omawarisan says:

      Everyone else is, karma is due here. I think we’d be willing to wait if we’d get a nice note a few years down the road that knuckleheads in our lives got their due.

      Thanks for getting my mind going.

  7. How bad is it that I REALLY, REALLY want that website? It’s bad.

  8. kingbeard2014 says:

    If Karma had a website, couldn’t said site bring bad Karma back on itself, thus creating the Karmic singularity? Sorry, had too much coffee this morning

  9. Pie says:

    I love it! Karma website. Justice served. Job done.


So, what's on your mind?

