Bacon Will Drive Pumpkin Out Of Beer

I believe that the mid to late 1970’s was a dreadful time in popular music. The blight of disco music, which someone likened to “a beautiful woman with a great body and no brains” dominated the airwaves.

A remnant of dark days (image by Vintage Fairytalke CCbySa2.0)

Disco’s repetitive, synthesized sound seemed inescapable. And yet, in the vast wasteland that popular music had become in that era, there were beacons of hope. Let’s look at 1978 as an example.

One would have every reason to believe that music would never recover from a year that saw records released by groups like The Village People and KC & The Sunshine Band. But there was really good music percolating up through the disco swamp.  That good music gave me hope that rock music would survive the onslaught of this musical “flavor of the month”.

Have I Mentioned That I Hate Pumpkin?

Sure, that “flavor of the month” left a bad taste in my mouth for a little over a decade. But my point remains that quality music by musicians who dared to play their own instruments eventually pushed the weaker style aside.

Speaking of flavor of the month, pumpkin is back. You don’t need me to tell you that. Pumpkin is in its yearly period where it becomes inescapable and pushes its way into food, where it doesn’t belong.

That’s right, I said where it doesn’t belong. Pumpkins are decoration, not food. Yet somehow they’ve forced their way onto our dinner plates, desserts and most heinously, into beer.

Pumpkin’s End Is In Sight

This is not food. It doesn’t belong in beer. (image public domain)

One night last week, I stopped at a local establishment to grab a bottle of wine. My wife had one-of-those-days at work and I thought she’d like a glass or two while she relaxed at home. You’re right, coming home to me is relaxing and pleasant enough, but I figured that wine would be a nice extra for her.  And while I was at it, I’d grab some beer for myself.

As I walked through the store, the amount of pumpkin flavored beer on display broke my heart.

My heart broke the way it did when my date to the junior prom let out a joyful yell as the band broke into the latest Donna Summer disco tune. “It’s over”, I thought, as I trudged to the dance floor with her in 1978, and as I walked between case after case of pumpkin beer a few nights ago. Pumpkin’s ruination of beer was nearly as complete as Ms. Summer’s destruction of prom night.

But I checked the craft beer cooler just because. Because I am an optimist. Because I knew that in 1978, as bad as things were, Elvis Costello released the This Year’s Model album and The Ramones put out Road To Ruin. Someone, somewhere, had to fight back against the pumpkin tide just like Elvis fought back against disco music.

My optimism paid off. I found beer brewed with bacon. Bacon and coffee, to be precise. It was delicious. Delicious and reassuring. I’m reassured because that beer made me realize that bacon will save food from the scourge of pumpkin.

Our seasonal pumpkin-flavored nightmare is nearly over. Bacon, which isn’t constrained by season, will be our champion.

Long live bacon.

10 Comments on “Bacon Will Drive Pumpkin Out Of Beer”

  1. LRose says:

    I want to share the link to this post on today’s Blog Propellant! Is that OK?

  2. April says:

    I tried some pumpkin beer. Not a fan. It was even worse than the watermelon beer.

  3. List of X says:

    Pumpkin is seasonal. Bacon is forever.

  4. Bacon. It should be it’s own food group and it’s rightful place on the food pyramid.

  5. Blogdramedy says:

    I’ve followed you for a few years now and when that time of year arrives and you start seeding your blog with pumpkin references, I know summer is officially over.

    Damn you.

  6. I can’t imagine pumpkin in beer…and I love pumpkin. I do not like pumpkin flavoured coffee creations, either…and I love pumpkin. It has its place. It does seem you can do anything with bacon though, and get away with it. This year I even tried bacon butter tarts. I didn’t hate them as much as I wanted to but I doubt I will try them again.


So, what's on your mind?

