Yo No Soy Marinero

Since my hearing impairment was diagnosed, I often ask myself two questions:

Was that person talking to me?

What did they say?

 

320px-pasillaknife

I just needed poblanos. (image purejadkid CCbySA3.0)

So, when a woman started talking to me yesterday at the grocery, I started with those familiar queries.

I was grabbing a cart and heard a woman’s voice behind me call out “hello!” It’s kind of rare for me to run into my friends during one of my afternoon food runs, but as I turned, I asked myself the first of my questions. She was looking at me and smiling; the answer seemed to be yes, she was talking to me. And I was pretty certain she’d said hello because when I turned, she followed up with “how’ve you been?”

But I had no idea who she was.

When someone talks to me and I don’t know who they are, I often ask myself two questions:

When did my wife introduce me to this person?

Is she close enough to save me?

I could not figure out the answer to the first question. Did my wife and I meet her at a party? I had no idea and my wife was in her office, too far away to get me out of this predicament with her usual grace. It was time to for me to start faking it.

Seemed Like The Right Thing To Do At The Time

So, while I desperately searched my memory for this woman’s identity, I started with the expected social niceties.

“It’s been a while, are you doing well?”, I asked. “Great! We’ve been trying to get in touch with you guys”.  My mind kept working – “Yeah, she must be someone my wife knows, but it’s unusual for T not to call someone back right away. Maybe that means she’s someone we don’t like.”

I told the woman we’d been in Hawaii, which was true… two months ago…so we’d have cover for not calling her back. She asked me to bring along pictures when we all got together and followed with “are the kids going to camp this summer?” I shrugged, “don’t know yet”.

madame_de_meuron

Hearing impairments don’t prevent ear worms. (image public domain)

But we don’t have kids to send to summer camp. My son finished college last year. I just felt bad for her and wanted to get us both through the situation without her ever realizing that she’d mistaken me for someone else.

My New “Friend” Gets A Song Stuck In My Head

I tried to get us through the situation without her realizing her mistake, but my face wasn’t cooperating. She saw the look on my face, looked closer and then said “wait, you’re not Marinero, are you?” I told her I wasn’t. “But you look just like him. Oh, well, have a good day.” She headed toward the frozen food; I walked off to find poblano peppers.

And for the rest of the day, I had a line from the Ritchie Valens song “La Bamba” running through my head – “yo no soy marinero”. It was awful, there was no getting it out of my head.

I’m not Marinero, and right now, I hate La Bamba. Apparently even with questionable hearing, you can still hear a song stuck in your head.

And for those who missed the intense press coverage, I’ve started a second site – The Seventeenth Syllable. It’s a haiku driven news site. Stop by!

3 Comments on “Yo No Soy Marinero”

  1. List of X says:

    And your solution was to get this song stuck in my head, too… 🙂

  2. Purple Rain is the song I haven’t been able to get out of my head. Probably because everyone and there brother sang it somewhere this week. I was about to tell you that you managed to knock it out of my head with La Bamba but as soon as I typed Purple Rain it was back. Now I have duelling songs in my head.

  3. Ahdad says:

    I got married because I know I suck with names.


So, what's on your mind?

